Monday 16 September 2019

Ferns see of the 'Ford with goals

Una Sinnott

The Ferns St. Aidan's Under-21 hurling team turned a one-point half time lead into a four-point victory on Monday of last week as they got the better of a very determined Craanford side in the Gorey District Roinn 1 championship.

Ferns St. Aidan's 2-13 Craanford 1-12

Playing on their home soil, the Ferns side proved stronger and more skilful throughout the encounter, with Chris Turner and Andy Cash their leading men in attack.

The first-half saw Ryan Nolan and Gavin Bailey splitting the posts for Ferns, while Kevin Poole and John Fleming were Craanford's most threatening players. The Ferns goalkeeper, Gerard Turner, was on form for the opening half but neat skill and good decision-making from Oliver Doran saw the umpires raise the green flag after he blasted a shot to the back of the net.

The sides were neck and neck for the remainder of the half. Hall, Collier and Hagen were sturdy in the Ferns defence line, while Patrick Lancaster, William Conroy and Pat Kenny were equally as impressive in the Craanford backs.

The 'Ford' free-taker, Kevin Poole, was in scoring form as per usual, and the same could be said for his counterpart, Chris Turner.

With a one-point lead at the break, Ferns re-started with a very energetic attitude. Turner, Peter O'Toole and Geoff Tobin claimed more points for the leaders, while Poole and Fleming did likewise for Craanford.

Two goals proved crucial in this clash, however, as Cash and Turner snatched one each to see Ferns advance their lead.

Martin Doyle, Jim Kenny and Cian O'Toole battled hard to change the scoreline, but sheer determination from Eoin Murphy, Ciarán Doran and Jason Collier saw Ferns claim the victory after a very classy performance.

Ferns St. Aidan's: Gerard Turner; Conor Hall, Aaron Collier, Jack Hagen; Conor Scallan, Ryan Nolan (0-1), Jason Collier; Gavin Bailey (0-2), Eoin Murphy; Peter O'Toole (0-1), Geoff Tobin (0-1), Ciarán Doran; Chris Turner (1-6, 0-3 frees), Andy Cash (1-1), Ben Cowman (0-1). Sub. - Conor Newman for Doran.

Craanford: Andrew Tighe; Patrick Lancaster, Pat Kenny, Páraic Redmond; Ger Lyons, William Conroy, Tony Kavanagh (0-1); Kevin Poole (0-5, 3 frees), Jack Kenny; James Redmond, John Fleming (0-5), Cian O'Toole; Jim Kenny, Martin Doyle, Oliver Doran (1-1). Subs. - Seán Byrne for Lancaster, Martin Kenny for J. Kenny, Thomas Furlong for Kavanagh.

Referee: Shane Quinn (Ballygarrett).

Wexford People

Most Read