Wednesday 13 December 2017

Fethard put in strong finish

OLI/Mayglass falter near end

Kyle Baker (Fethard) and Ryan Walsh (OLI/Mayglass) battle it out
Kyle Baker (Fethard) and Ryan Walsh (OLI/Mayglass) battle it out
Cillian Byrne of Fethard on the move as Evan Cullen (Our Lady’s Island/Mayglass) gives chase
Eoin Whelan, captain of the Fethard team, receives the cup from Jim Dempsey
The gallant runners-up from Our Lady’s Island/Mayglass

Fethard and Mayglass played out an interesting final in the Allianz Cumann na mBunscol Rackard League Roinn 'C' boys' football decider in St. Patrick's Park on Thursday.

Fethard 3-11 OLI/Mayglass 1-7

With ten minutes to go, it was all to play for and you could not pick out a winner. However, a strong final flourish was enough for Fethard to add this county title to Poulfur's recent mini-sevens win.

Fethard began strongly with a point each from Seán Nunan and Kean Molloy. The latter almost scored a replica point with his next shot but instead the ball decided to dip into the far corner of the goal to put his team even further ahead.

Mayglass then got stuck in with a score from Lee Kelly and two Kyle Rankin frees to keep them in touch. Fethard got their last score of the half from Lennon Foley and for the remainder Mayglass took control.

Kyle Rankin pointed from long range and then excellently set up Lee Kelly for another point. The half-time scoreline of 1-3 to 0-5 suggested a titanic battle in the second period.

Fethard once again began well when they put two points on the board through Cillian Byrne and Kean Molloy. Mayglass then enjoyed a purple patch when Kyle Rankin put over a free and his partner in crime, Lee Kelly, calmly finished low to the back of the Fethard net.

This lead could have been increased had the superb Fethard netminder, Rory Whelan, not palmed over a stinging shot from Daniel Devereux. Mayglass were now in the lead for the first time but unfortunately these also proved to be their last scores.

Fethard powerhouse midfielder Morgan Ellis showed great example when his hard work created two scores for his team. His first came when he blocked a low free and put it over the Mayglass bar. He then brilliantly turned over the ball and soloed along the endline to blast it into the back of the net.

This hard work was replicated by his team-mates, Cillian Byrne and Kean Molloy, who also got the important scores needed to take command of the scoreboard.

When Cillian Byrne coolly slotted home a penalty the writing was on the wall for Mayglass. Kyle Baker finished proceedings with a neat score and ensured that the cup was going in the direction of Fethard.

Fethard: Rory Whelan, Conor McLoughlin, Eoin Whelan, Shane Finn-Butler, David Conway, Bill Nunan, Conor Folan, Morgan Ellis, Seán Nunan, Lennon Foley, Cillian Byrne, Kyle Baker, Finn Pilkington, Kean Molloy, Jamie Waters, Shane Murphy, Pádraig Gleeson, Darren Roche, Kian Sutton.

Our Lady's Island/Mayglass: Seán Denton, Oisín Lyons, Conor Swan, J.J. Ellard, Dylan Fortune, Daniel Devereux, Ryan Walsh, Quinlan Kelly, Oisín Meyler, Evan Cullen, Kyle Rankin, Jordan Murphy, Lee Kelly, Alan Doyle-Dwyer, Ryan Goldsmith, Tomás Sinnott, Darren O'Neill, Cameron Cooke, Fionn Mulligan, Eoin Kehoe, Rúarí Byrne, Max Hendrick, Alex Devereux, Pádraic Wright, Matthew Wickham, James Byrne, Evan Kennedy-Power, Ryan Ellard, Jamie Doyle, Evan Doyle.

Wexford People

Promoted Links

Most Read

Promoted Links