Tuesday 20 February 2018

First points for Bannow

Dean Goodison in Clongeen

After two hard-fought losses, Bannow-Ballymitty picked up their first win in the Enniscorthy Electrical Wholesale Junior hurling championship Group B at Clongeen on Sunday.

Bannow-B'mitty 1-13 Horeswood 1-11

It was a vital game for the Grantstown side. A loss would have almost certainly meant that a place in the last eight was beyond them. Their victory means they currently sit in fourth spot with games against Tara Rocks and bottom side Ferns still to come.

From 0-2 apiece Horeswood went double scores clear with points from Michael O'Hanlon and Barry Hearn, and maintained their two-point advantage all the way to half-time (0-7 to 0-5).

Within 30 seconds of the re-start Bannow-Ballymitty hit the front when James McCormack made a little space for himself and thumped a low shot to the bottom left corner of the net.

The victors were the better side thereafter and found scores easier to come by. The lead was four when Leon Galvin hit a quick-fire double with six minutes left (1-13 to 0-10).

There was still a sting in the Horeswood tail with O'Hanlon following a point with a goal from a free but it wasn't enough to deny Bannow-Ballymitty the points.

Horeswood would have had a foot in the quarter with a victory in this game but now must win at least one of their final two ties against Tara Rocks and St. Mary's (Rosslare) to have any hope of making the knockouts.

Bannow-Ballymitty: John Sinnott; Aaron Diskin, Paudge Barden, David White; John Mernagh, Niall Murphy, Conor Furlong; Art Sweetman (capt., 0-1), Nicky Doyle (0-1); Darragh Murphy (0-1), Michael Barry (0-1), Pat Fitzharris (0-5, 4 frees, 1 '65); Pádraig McCormack (0-1), James McCormack (1-1), Mark Wallace. Subs. - Leon Galvin (0-2) for Wallace (37), Jon Reville for P. McCormack (46), Alan Barden for Furlong (57).

Horeswood: Kevin Rowe; Ivan Kehoe, Eoin Mythen, Tommy Quinn; Tomás Kent, Michael O'Hanlon (1-5, 1-3 frees), Shane O'Hanlon; Seán Stafford, Lorcan O'Brien (0-1); Declan Murphy (0-1), Barry Hearn (capt., 0-1), Darren Shannon (0-1); Dale Flynn, Leigh O'Brien, Craig Murphy (0-2, 1 free). Subs. - Jim Wall for Flynn (42), James Kent for Stafford (59).

Referee: John Tobin (Geraldine O'Hanrahans).

Wexford People

Promoted Links

Most Read

Promoted Links