Tuesday 20 August 2019

Five out of five for Gorey crew

Naomh Éanna 2-10 Réalt na Mara 0-6

Ml. Heffernan

Naomh Éanna continued their unbeaten run in the Joyces Expert Intermediate 'A' football championship with a comfortable win over Réalt na Mara in the final round of Group A in Farmleigh on Saturday.

A confident opening ten minutes gave the Gorey town side the perfect start as they went eight points clear, allowing them to sit tight and defend for the remainder of the game and hold the upper hand to the end.

The group leaders got down to business immediately as Pédraig Doyle got them off the mark in the opening minute, quickly followed by another point by Gearóid Cullen.

Two minutes later a snap-shot by David O'Brien was saved by Shane Quinn, but the rebound was anticipated well by Seán Doyle who kicked to the net the make it a five-point lead.

Doyle, Cullen and Darragh Hughes made it an eight-point game on the ten-minute mark but amazingly that would be Naomh Éanna's final score of the half as they looked to take the foot off the pedal and allow Réalt na Mara to come into the game a little more.

The Ballygarrett side were having a torrid time trying to create scoring chances however, and it was going into the second quarter when Jack Hobbs and Dylan Sweeney eventually got them off the mark to make it a six-point game at the break.

Réalt na Mara looked to have a great start to the new period when they were awarded a penalty, but Eoin Corcoran's effort was excellently saved by Kenneth Byrne.

It was a disheartening moment and they couldn't muster a challenge thereafter.

And the game was as good as finished midway through the half when O'Brien scored two points either side of a well-taken penalty, putting his side well clear as they head into the last eight with a very impressive run of form to make them outright favourites.

Naomh Éanna: Kenneth Byrne; Ross Murphy, Daniel Sunderland, Seamus O'Donnell; Joseph O'Connor, Pádraig Doyle (0-1), Conor Hughes; Kevin Harrington, John O'Brien; Aodhán Doyle, Peter Travers (0-1), Darragh Hughes (0-1); David O'Brien (1-3, 0-2 frees), Gearóid Cullen (0-2), Seán Doyle (1-2). Subs. - Conor McDonald for Murphy, Murphy for A. Doyle (black card).

Réalt na Mara: Shane Quinn; Colm Cosgrave, Aidan Murphy, David Doran; Tom Sinnott, Darren Morris, Patrick Fleming; Eoin Corcoran (0-1), Colm Kennelly; Cathal Dunbar, Kevin Jordan (0-1), Seán O'Brien; James Fleming, Jack Hobbs (0-3, 1 free), Dylan Sweeney (0-1). Subs. - Stephen Redmond for O'Brien, Harry Byrne for Sweeney.

Referee: Aiden O'Brien (Cloughbawn).

Wexford People

Most Read