Thursday 23 November 2017

Footballer Butler seeking transfer to Bannow-Ballymitty

Kieran Butler
Kieran Butler

The grand total of 72 transfer requests were considered by the C.C.C. on Wednesday, with the majority of them focused as per usual on Wexford town.

Additional information was required in a lot of instances, proof of residence in most cases, and clubs and players affected have been given until Monday, February 29, to furnish the details.

The decision of St. John's Volunteers to cease playing hurling has prompted nine of their players to seek transfers to Clonard, with another eight moving to Faythe Harriers.

The biggest attempted move from one club to another involves 14 players seeking transfers from Clonard to St. Joseph's. However, as is the case every year, many transfer-seekers haven't played for a long time and are unlikely to do so even if the moves are approved.

The most notable name on the list is that of current Wexford Senior footballer Kieran Butler who has applied for a move from Geraldine O'Hanrahans to Bannow-Ballymitty.

The full list of applications is -

Andrew Cullen, Noel Beaver, Rory O'Connor, Seán Phelan, Ashley Houghton, Dean Connolly, John Tormey, David Murphy, T.J. Paige-Doyle, Stephen Walsh, David Tormey, Aaron Rossiter, Paul McManus, Paul Stacey (all Clonard to St. Joseph's); Shane Bates, John Browne, Aidan Roche, Brian Sheridan, Joseph McBride, Eoin McCarthy, Cian Brennan, P.J. Doyle, Ciarán Hillery (all St. John's Volunteers to Clonard); Philip Bowe, Peter Walsh, Anthony Walsh, Danny O'Sullivan, Jason Kearns, Alan Donovan, David O'Connor, Stephen Burke (all St. John's Volunteers to Faythe Harriers);

Andy Moore, Leigh Smith (Faythe Harriers to Clonard); Darren Dempsey (St. Joseph's to Clonard); Richie Kearney, James Somers, Dale Scallan, Stephen Kearney (all Sarsfields to St. Joseph's); Calum Frankis, Mark O'Rourke (St. Martin's to St. Joseph's); Alex Bergin, P.J. Roche (St. John's Volunteers to St. Joseph's); Patrick Dempsey (Crossabeg-Ballymurn to St. Joseph's); David Lyttleton (St. Mary's, Maudlintown to St. Joseph's); Wayne Mallon (Sarsfields to St. John's Volunteers); Evan Dunbar (St. Martin's to Ballygarrett); Barry Sinnott (St. Anne's to Kilmore); Philip Sutton (Our Lady's Island to Kilmore); Lee Elston, Darren Browne (Sarsfields to St. Mary's, Maudlintown);

Gerry Heanue (Oylegate-Glenbrien to Ballyhogue); Martin Armstrong (HWH-Bunclody to Rapparees); Jason Watchorn (Duffry Rovers to Kilrush-Askamore); Wayne Harris (Oulart-The Ballagh to Gusserane); James Carty (Starlights to Shamrocks); Seán Murphy (Shamrocks to St. John's Volunteers); Robert Cleary (Shamrocks to Oulart-The Ballagh); Niall O'Connor (Rapparees to Tara Rocks);

Cathal Doyle (Adamstown to Cloughbawn); Liam Murphy (Taghmon-Camross to Geraldine O'Hanrahans); Kieran Butler (Geraldine O'Hanrahans to Bannow-Ballymitty); Liam Greene (St. Patrick's to Clonee); John O'Leary (Ferns St. Aidan's to Bannow-Ballymitty); Patrick Bergin, Darren Mulhall (Castletown to Tara Rocks); Frank Bellanova, Demetrius Delahunt, Gearóid O'Sullivan, Aaron Redmond, Niall Murray (all Naomh Eanna to Tara Rocks); Gavin Kinsella, Seán Mulligan (Kilanerin to Tara Rocks).

Meanwhile, former Wexford Senior footballer John Mernagh has transferred from his native Kilmore to Railyard in Kilkenny where he will join up with ex-club colleague Noel Raftery, who captured a Senior championship medal last year when the north county side beat Muckalee in a final replay.

Crossabeg-Ballymurn will be boosted by the arrival of Tony Murphy from Celbridge in Kildare, while other Wexford-related transfers approved by the Leinster Council since the start of the year were: Barry Whelan (Buffers Alley to Round Towers, Dublin); Stephen Roche (Réalt Dearg, Dublin, to St. Martin's); Brian Delaney (Clara, Kilkenny, to St. John's Volunteers).

Wexford People

Promoted Links