Monday 19 August 2019

Forwards give Alley edge

Buffers Alley 3-15 Monageer-Boolavogue 2-12

ML. Heffernan

A sharp-shooting full-forward line gave Buffers Alley the edge as they convincingly saw off a gallant effort from Monageer-Boolavogue in this Permanent TSB Junior hurling championship Group A second round game in Oylegate on Sunday.

The trio of Walter Gahan, Keith Burke and John Furlong contributed all but three points of the eventual winners' scores and wreaked havoc on the Monageer-Boolavogue defence throughout.

The game was played in the spirit that would be expected from local rivals, with the ball being moved as hard and as fast as the tackles were going in.

The Alley looked a lot more convincing though as they went six points ahead midway through the opening half, with Burke accurate from placed balls.

Monageer-Boolavogue were finding scores hard to come by but Seán McCabe produced a beauty from a line ball along with scores from Cathal Walsh, Stephen Lacey and three from Niall Finn.

Still, Furlong gave the Alley a five-point advantage when he sent a ball crashing to the net just before the break.

Both sides continued to entertain the crowd, playing with great spirit, but the eventual winners held their lead for 20 minutes thanks to Burke and a superb individual goal from Gahan.

However, they were then hit with a double blow as steady centre-back John Farrell was sent-off after receiving a second yellow.

From the resultant free the ball broke to substitute Adrian O'Dowd who rattled the net, leaving his side within touching distance with the momentum beginning to swing in their favour.

But the Gorey District side responded in typical fashion as Gahan took on the Monageer-Boolavogue defence and somehow found a gap to dispatch to the net.

The insurance score came shortly afterwards thanks to Furlong, giving Buffers Alley their second win in very impressive style.

Buffers Alley: Darren O'Brien; Colm Óg Doran, Alan Doyle, Matty Cardiff; Conor Kenny, John Farrell, Paudie Kinsella; Paudie Reidy (0-1), Aaron Redmond; James Foley, Domhnall McArdle (0-1), Eoin Whelan; John Furlong (1-2), Keith Burke (0-10, 6 frees, 1 '65), Walter Gahan (2-0).

Monageer-Boolavogue: Morgan Gahan; Paddy Walsh, Ray O'Brien, James Breen; Lee McHale, Paddy Breen, Robbie Donnelly; Seán McCabe (0-1 line ball), Stephen Lacey (1-1); Cathal Walsh (0-1), James Donohoe, Shane Kehoe (0-1 free); James Gahan, Niall Finn (0-7 frees), Matthew Dunne (0-1). Sub. - Adrian O'Dowd (1-0) for Donohoe.

Referee: Derek Murphy (St. Martin's).

Wexford People

Most Read