Tuesday 21 November 2017

Galway had goal-den touch

Wexford were out-goaled by Galway in a pulsating game in the All-Ireland Minor camogie championship on the fast-track astro at Parnells G.A.A. club, Coolock, on Wednesday.

Galway 6-8 Wexford 2-11

The Slaneysiders were much improved on their first display against Limerick but it still wasn't enough to pick up a win as Galway found the net three times in either half to move themselves closer to a semi-final spot.

A Róisín Kelly point, quickly added to by Aoife Curran from a placed ball, had Wexford two up before Galway had settled. The westerners kept plugging away and, despite points from Curran and Oonagh Doyle, levelled the game at 0-4 each.

Kelly's second point and a Sarah O'Connor free gave Wexford their final lead of the evening. Siobhán McGrath netted for Galway to start a blitz that would leave them well ahead at the interval.

Carrie Dolan made it 1-5 to 0-6 but Wexford responded through Sarah O'Connor to cut the gap to one again. However, Sarah Spellman and Dolan goaled either side of a Kelly point to send Galway 3-5 to 0-8 ahead at the interval.

The Leinster side began to narrow the gap after the break with scores through O'Connor and Kelly (two). The gap was down to a point, and Wexford had all the momentum, when Curran found the net (3-6 to 1-11).

Yet Wexford would only add one further score, a Rachel Kelly goal from a free late on, as Galway finished with a flourish. Mairéad Dillon registered a pair of majors while Nichola Lawless also found the rigging to ease Galway over the line.

Wexford, who had two goals disallowed for square balls in the game, didn't have time to lick their wounds as they made the short trip to Waterford on Saturday in a bid to keep their championship hopes alive.

Wexford: Emma Kiely; Derbhla Doyle, Leanne Foley, Róisín Cooney; Aine Ennis, Rachel Kelly, Aoife McCrea; Sarah O'Connor (0-3, 1 free), Oonagh Doyle (0-1); Aoife Curran (1-2, 0-1 free), Róisín Kelly (1-5, 1-2 frees), Shauna Kelly; Emma Codd, Orla Crowe, Clodagh Jackman. Subs. - Orla Molloy for Crowe, Aoife Dunne for McCrea, Emma O'Dowd for Jackman, Aoife Guiney for Foley, Amy Conroy for S. Kelly, also Liza Bates, Emma Furlong, Una Sinnott.

Galway: Sarah Healy; Sinéad Cannon, Aisling Downey, Fiona Burke; Siobhán Skehill, Róisín Black, Leanne Helebert; Shannon Ridge, Leanne Freaney (0-1); Ava Lynskey, Sarah Spellman (1-0), Mairéad Dillon (2-0); Elisha Broderick (0-1), Carrie Dolan (1-3), Siobhán McGrath (1-2). Subs. - Molly Mannion, Taragh Maloney (0-1), Nichola Lawless (1-0), Yvonne Lyons, Tiffany Ní Coisteabhla, Eimear O'Donovan, Mairéad Burke, Serena Brehony, Christina Hanley, Tara McNally, Emma Waters, Laoise Stones, Sacra Mannion, Rachel Murphy, Eimear Porter, Niamh Daly.

Referee: Ray Kelly (Kildare).

Wexford People

Promoted Links

Most Read

Promoted Links