Sunday 20 October 2019

Gorey bow out to Meath Senior champs

Naomh Eanna were edged out of the AIB Leinster Intermediate hurling championship by Meath Senior champions Kiltale at St. Loman's Park, Trim on Sunday.

Kiltale (Meath) 2-13 Naomh Eanna 1-13

The Wexford Intermediate winners were always going to be up against it versus the best the Royal county have to offer but they put it up to Kiltale and were even level early in the second-half.

However, a Kevin Ryan goal in the 39th minute was too much for Gorey to overcome, despite the usual late heroics from Conor McDonald, who ended the game with 1-5 to his name.

Peter Durnin had a couple of early goal chances for the hosts - who beat Shamrocks at the same stage last year - but his side only had a Jack Regan '65 to show for their early pressure.

That changed when James Kelly fed Cathal McCabe for the game's first goal in the eighth minute.

Trailing by 1-3 to nil, Conor McDonald got Naomh Eanna off the mark at the end of the first quarter. However, after Pádraig Doyle's first free, the visitors still trailed by 1-5 to 0-2 after 22 minutes.

Gorey played some of their best hurling before half-time and narrowed the gap at the interval to just three points (1-6 to 0-6) after a brace apiece from William Cullen and Pádraig Doyle.

A McDonald goal chance was snuffed out after the re-start but he did pick off the levelling point after a trio of Doyle scores had kept Gorey chipping away in the early stages of the second period.

Parity (1-7 to 0-10) didn't last long for Naomh Eanna as Jack Regan pointed a free, and he was involved moments later when Kevin Ryan found the net to give the hosts a 2-8 to 0-10 lead.

There was five points between the sides, and just a couple of minutes to go when Conor McDonald beat Shane McGann from close range to put Gorey right back into proceedings.

However, with Regan on fire from dead balls, Kiltale kept their opponents at arm's length until the full-time whistle, taking a place opposite Portlaoise in the semi-finall on Sunday week.

Kiltale: Shane McGann; Anthony Donnelly (capt.), David Donoghue, Ciarán Ennis; Stephen Donoghue, Ronan Ryan, Eamon Ryan (0-1); Anthony Forde (0-1), Pádraig Kelly (0-1); James Kelly, Cathal McCabe (1-0), Jack Regan (0-8, 4 frees, 2 '65s); Peter Durnin (0-1), Ross Ryan, Kevin Ryan (1-1). Subs. - Pádraig Donoghue for D. Donoghue (43), Chris Reilly for Ross Ryan (48), Shane Lenehan for Durnin (59).

Naomh Eanna: Barry Kinsella; Peter Travers, Brendan Travers (capt.), Tom Stafford; Seán Doyle, Lee Kinsella, Gary Molloy; Eoin Conroy, Dara McDonald; Gearóid Cullen, Pádraig Doyle (0-6, 3 frees, 2 '65s), Conor Hughes; William Cullen (0-2), Conor McDonald (1-5, 0-3 frees), Aodhán Doyle. Subs. - John O'Brien for McDonald (41), David O'Brien for Hughes (41), Joseph O'Connor for Cullen (49).

Referee: Mick Murtagh (Westmeath).

Wexford People

Most Read