Sunday 18 August 2019

Gorey crush weak challenge

Naomh Eanna 4-13 Kilrush 1-6

Brendna Furlong

Naomh Eanna maintained their recent form in both codes as they demolished a feeble Kilrush challenge in this Joyces Expert Intermediate 'A' football championship Group A game in Farmleigh on Saturday.

In doing so they ran riot in the second-half, killing off the game as a contest with a tremendous scoring flourish within five minutes of the re-start.

Having led by three points at the interval, they went on to add 1-2 inside that opening five-minute spell, and as a result they had decided the destination of the points by this stage.

At the end of the opening quarter the sides were level (0-3 each), but then Michael Molloy shot home a tremendous goal five minutes before the break.

As the game moved into first-half additional time a Steven Ryan goal from a penalty handed Kilrush a lifeline as they now trailed by just three points at the break (1-6 to 1-3).

Within 60 seconds of the re-start David O'Brien found the net to increase his side's lead, and this was followed by quick points from Molloy and O'Brien, leaving no way back for their opponents as they struggled throughout the pitch.

A 38th-minute Conor Hughes goal left his side leading by 3-10 to 1-3, with their opponents' first second-half score arriving at the end of the third quarter through a Ryan pointed free.

But the Naomh Eanna dominance was to continue right to the end as both O'Brien and Molloy were running riot in attack, and substitute Lee Kinsella found the net for his side's fourth goal as they just ran don the clock for the closing ten minutes.

Really their winning margin could have been greater had they maintained the pressure, but they will be happy with two more crucial points and remain the team to beat in this grade.

Naomh Eanna: Kenneth Byrne; Joseph O'Connor, Daniel Sunderland, Seamus O'Donnell; Aodhán Doyle, Pádraig Doyle, Conor Hughes (1-0); Brendan Travers, John O'Brien; Jack Cushe, Peter Travers, Kevin Harrington; Michael Molloy (1-6), David O'Brien (1-4, 0-3 frees), Seán Doyle (0-1). Sub. - Lee Kinsella (1-2) for Travers, black card (28).

Kilrush: John Harte; Martin Hayden, Frank Lancaster, Tom Byrne; Tom Hayden, Patrick Nolan, Tommy Devereux; James Lancaster, Seán Foley; Gavin Sunderland, Conor Levingstone, Pádraig Byrne (0-1); Steven Ryan (1-3, 1-0 pen., 0-2 frees), Billy Nolan (0-2), Conor Travers.

Referee: Shane Quinn (Réalt na Mara).

Wexford People

Most Read