Saturday 25 November 2017

Gorey keep unbeaten record

Naomh Eanna 2-7 Craanford 0-8

Una Sinnott

A quick transfer of points between Gearóid Cullen of Naomh Eanna and Craanford's Mick Lyons in the opening five minutes got this Joyces Expert Intermediate 'A' football championship Group A encounter off to a competitive start in Camolin on Saturday.

A dangerous high ball into Naomh Eanna's full-forward line then saw the Gorey captain, Peter Travers, raise the green flag as he kicked a low ball to the corner of Bob Flynn's net.

Gearóid and William Cullen stood tall for their side in the remainder of the first-half as they added to the scoreboard.

John Fleming benefited from great outfield play by Niall Berney and Patrick Kavanagh to score a point, leaving four between the neighbouring clubs.

John Fleming and James Smyth gave Craanford a great boost of confidence in the second-half as they utilised the ball when it was in their forward line, reducing the Gorey lead to one point.

The slight advantage was quickly diminished as Joe Berney fisted over a point from a deflected ball after Matthew Nolan tried to score a goal.

The tonic of a goal was enjoyed by the opposing team in the following minutes, however, as David O'Brien skilfully guided the ball to the back of the Craanford net. Michael Sinnott kept his opponent very quiet while Des Kavanagh was threatening throughout for the losers.

With one goal between the sides, the final ten minutes were heated. Patrick Murray played a great captain's role by claiming two points for Craanford to help their situation.

Brendan Travers was quick to cancel one of these out, while a free allowed David O'Brien to reply to the other.

O'Brien replicated this act while youngster Michael Molloy claimed Gorey's final point, leaving five between the sides at full-time.

Naomh Éanna: Kenneth Byrne; Joseph O'Connor, John O'Brien, Seamus O'Donnell; Aodhán Doyle, Pádraig Doyle, Conor Hughes; Brendan Travers (0-1), Kevin Harrington; Gearóid Cullen (0-2, 1 free), Peter Travers (1-0), Seán Doyle; William Cullen (0-1 free), David O'Brien (1-2, 0-2 frees), Michael Molloy (0-1). Subs. - Lee Kinsella for Hughes, Gary Molloy for G. Cullen.

Craanford: Bob Flynn; William Conroy, James Byrne, Michael Sinnott; Pat Kenny, Shane Kavanagh, Joe Berney (0-1); Des Kavanagh, Peter Kavanagh; Michael Lyons (0-1), Pat Murray (0-2 frees), Niall Berney; James Smyth (0-2), Matthew Nolan, John Fleming (0-2). Sub. - Ger Lyons for D. Kavanagh.

Referee: Pádraig Byrne (Kilanerin).

Wexford People

Promoted Links

Most Read

Promoted Links