Saturday 21 September 2019

Gorey march on to semis

Una Sinnott

Naomh Eanna were on top form on Tuesday evening as they got the better of a determined Shelmaliers side in the Greenstar Under-21 hurling Premier championship quarter-final in Gorey.

Naomh Eanna 3-12 Shelmaliers 2-9

This thrilling game saw both teams secure goals and although the black and amber men were never completely beaten until the final blow of the whistle, they never managed to break down Naomh Eanna after the home team moved ahead.

Conor McDonald was sharp during play and accurate as ever when put in charge of dead balls. He edged his green and white men ahead during the first-half by claiming points from play and raising the green flag with a well-struck low effort in the opening five minutes.

Conor Hearne was the star man for the Shelmaliers and was reliable standing over dead-balls, while Liam Rockett kept them in contention during the second-half by scoring a crucial goal.

Darragh Hughes and Gearóid Cullen claimed a fine point each from wing-forward for Gorey and the same could be said for Shelmalier man Simon Donohoe.

It was very uneven at half-time with Conor McDonald and Charlie McGuckin having claimed a goal each.

This made all the difference and allowed the Gorey side an eleven-point advantage at the break.

Shelmaliers were keen to score goals in the second-half and Liam Rockett and Kyle Roche obliged. However, Conor McDonald had a second goal on his mind too, and he managed to hit the back of the net and effectively seal victory for Gorey.

Hughes re-appeared on the scoring sheet for Naomh Eanna, while Shane Neville, Jody Donohoe and Conor Hearne all raised the white flag at the opposite end.

The combined efforts of Glen Malone and Liam Rockett produced strong moments for Shelmaliers but unfortunately for them, Naomh Eanna held their lead until the end with Conor McDonald being their key man as ever as they advanced to face St. Martin's tonight (Tuesday).

Naomh Eanna: Jack Cushe; David Kennedy, Eoin Molloy, Darren Sunderland; Ross Murphy, Gary Molloy, Jack Cullen; Aodhán Doyle, Kevin Harrington; Darragh Hughes (0-2), Gearóid Cullen (0-1), Michael Molloy (0-1); Charlie McGuckin (1-0), Conor McDonald (2-8, 0-3 frees, 0-1 '65), Tiernan Doyle. Subs. - Eoin McGuckin for M. Molloy, Eoin Harris for A. Doyle, Dylan Kennedy for C. McGuckin.

Shelmaliers: Paul McCleane; Craig Parker, Simon Donohoe (0-1), Aaron O'Neill; Stephen Rossiter, Glen Malone, Cian Manley; Aaron Murphy, Graham Staples; Jody Donohoe (0-1), Conor Hearne (0-5 frees), Liam Rockett (1-1); Shane Neville (0-1), Michael Feeney, Seán Keane. Subs. - Kyle Roche (1-0) for Rossiter, Aodhán Foley for Neville.

Referee: John Carton (Monageer-Boolavogue).

Wexford People

Most Read