Monday 20 November 2017

Gorey set for Kerry

Goals secure Division 1 Féile crown

Dean Goodison in St. Patrick's Park

Naomh Eanna celebrate their Division 1 final success
Naomh Eanna celebrate their Division 1 final success
Alex Boggan holds on to possession as Cian Molloy challenges
Darragh Levingston receives the cup from Peter Hally, G.D.A.
Robert Molloy (Sarsfields) taking on Gorey's Rian Fitzpatrick
The Sarsfields squad before their defeat in Tuesday's final

Naomh Eanna will be Wexford's 'A' representatives in the Féile Peil na nÓg in Kerry and surrounding areas this year after beating Sarsfields in a highly-competitive Division 1 final in St. Patrick's Park on Tuesday.

Naomh Eanna 4-3 Sarsfields 1-2

The Gorey boys, who were arguably the most impressive performers in the county when Wexford hosted the annual tournament last year, look set for a strong run again as they infuse a talented group of players with a sensational work ethic.

The benefit of 20-minute games was particularly evident in this clash. The pace both teams played with was exceptionally high, making for a really entertaining night of football.

Sarsfields were right in this game for long spells and had plenty of possession in and around goal. They were a little less physically imposing than their Gorey counterparts and that added experience and strength proved vital for the victors.

Naomh Eanna started brightly and dominated the first few minutes. That pressure told when Cian Browne fed Ryan Connolly and he was fouled for a penalty. The excellent Darragh Levingston stepped up and stroked home the spot-kick to give his side the lead.

The Páirc Charman boys pressed and had a couple of near misses after falling behind, but things got worse for them in the eleventh minute when Lee Cushe floated a long handpass to Seán Egan and he drove a thumping finish past Josh Walsh to the rigging.

A brilliant save by Walsh from Levingston, and the follow-up clearance when under intense pressure from Connolly, kept his Sarsfields side in the game. It looked even more crucial when the Wexford town boys finished the first-half with a flourish.

Eoin Kavanagh pointed a free after Kyle Clancy was fouled in the 16th minute. Just two minutes later Josh Sheil won possession on the left wing, darted 25 metres towards the posts and struck a fantastic goal to make it 2-0 to 1-1.

Sarsfields almost took the lead in at the break but saw Oliver McMahon's shot brilliantly kept out by a brave Rory Tubritt. Regardless, the Wexford boys were right in the game with the second-half to come.

Yet the interval gave Gorey time to recover and re-group. They made a couple of changes that livened them up and soon they were in scoring form again. Levingston nailed a booming point from fully 35 metres out to make it 2-1 to 1-1.

A clever pass from Kevin Bedeanu set Ryan Connolly in for a third Gorey goal which was quickly added to by a second Levingston point. Lee Cushe made it 3-3 to 1-1 before Sheil hit back for Sarsfields after a lung-bursting run by Killian Boggan.

However, that would be Sars' final score as substitute George Slattery nipped in on Connolly's pass to score a fourth Gorey goal and give their captain, Darragh Levingston, the opportunity to collect the silverware.

Naomh Eanna: Rory Tubritt; Jack Curley, Cormac Doyle, Enda McCrea; Brian Cushe, Paul Gibson, Rian Fitzpatrick; Cian Molloy, Darragh Levingston (capt., 1-2, 1-0 pen.); Lee Cushe (0-1), Ryan Connolly (1-0), Shane Mahon; Cian Browne, Seán Egan (1-0), J.J. Twamley. Subs. - Kevin Budeanu for Mahon (21), Seáiní Quirke for Curley (21), George Slattery (1-0) for Twamley (28), also Ruadhan Redmond, Seán Kinch, Michael Dineen, Luke Darley, Tommy Connors, Niall O'Dwyer, Darragh Fitzpatrick, Shane Flood, Seán Murphy-O'Brien, Seán Miller, Tadhg Byrne, Eoin Murphy, Jim Moorhouse.

Sarsfields: Josh Walsh; Callum Corcoran, Killian Boggan, Ben Hynes; Alex Boggan, Liam Cassin, Kyle Clancy; Eoin Kavanagh (0-1 free), Jake Giltrap (capt.); Robert Molloy, Josh Sheil (1-1), Eoin Hartigan; Zachary Maxwell, Jason Gordon, Oliver McMahon. Subs. - Jack Connolly for Maxwell (15), Mark Finucane for Kavanagh, inj. (24), Darragh Grant for Connolly (30), Connolly for Cassin, inj. (32), Maxwell for Sheil, black card (37), also Shane Clancy, Richard Lawlor.

Referee: John O'Loughlin (Monageer-Boolavogue).

Wexford People

Promoted Links

Most Read

Promoted Links