Saturday 18 November 2017

Group teams prominent as Minor series starts

The large number of group teams is one of the most striking features of the line-up for the Wexford People Minor football championships which will get the 2016 Coiste na nOg season up and running on Sunday.

Of the 43 clubs participating, no fewer than 18 of them will be involved with an amalgamation at Minor level which is a reflection on the fall in playing membership at that level.

And all Districts are affected by the situation, as the group teams feature no fewer than four from New Ross, three from Gorey, and one apiece from Enniscorthy and Wexford.

Indeed, Rathgarogue-Cushinstown and Geraldine O'Hanrahans are the only two of the ten New Ross District clubs not to be part of an amalgamation for 2016.

The nine group teams are as follows: Mogue O'Rahilly's (Fethard and Gusserane, Premier); Castle-Craan Gaels (Castletown and Craanford, Roinn 1); Hollow Rovers (Marshalstown and Duffry Rovers, Roinn 1); Ballinastragh Gaels (Kilanerin and Tara Rocks, Roinn 1); Macamore Gaels (Buffers Alley and Réalt na Mara, Roinn 1); Munna Abbain Gaels (Adamstown and Taghmon-Camross, Premier); Kilross Gaels (St. Mary's, Rosslare and Kilmore, Roinn 2); Dunbrody Gaels (St. James' and Horeswood, Premier); St. John's Gaels (Bannow-Ballymitty and Clongeen, Roinn 2).

With 49 clubs in total in the county, the only six without Minor football teams are the hurling-only trio of Faythe Harriers, Rathnure and Oulart-the Ballagh plus Clonard, Clonee and St. Joseph's.

Prior to Sunday's big throw-in, the county Minor footballers will be in action on Saturday in round three of the Leinster League when they take on guest team Cork in O'Kennedy Park, New Ross, at 2.30 p.m.

They have one point to date from their two previous outings versus Kildare and Dublin.

SUN. FEB. 28

Wexford People Minor football Premier championship (all 11 a.m., first-named at home): Dunbrody Gaels v. St. Martin's; Munna-Abbain Gaels v. Naomh Éanna; Mogue O'Rahilly's v. Glynn-Barntown; HWH-Bunclody v. Shelmaliers.

Wexford People Minor football Roinn 1A championship (all 11 a.m., first-named at home): St. Patrick's v. Starlights; Castle-Craan Gaels v. Macamore Gaels; Shamrocks v. Ballinastragh Gaels; Monageer-Boolavogue v. Hollow Rovers.

Wexford People Minor football Roinn 1B championship (all 11 a.m., first-named at home): Ballyhogue v. Crossabeg-Ballymurn; Our Lady's Island/St. Fintan's v. Blackwater; Sarsfields v. Volunteers; Rathgarogue-Cushinstown v. Oylegate-Glenbrien.

Wexford People Minor football Roinn 2A championship (all 11 a.m., first-named at home): Kilross Gaels v. St. Mary's (Maudlintown); St. Anne's v. Geraldine O'Hanrahans; St. John's Gaels bye.

Wexford People Minor football Roinn 2B championship (all 11 a.m., first-named at home): Cloughbawn v. Kilrush; Davidstown-Courtnacuddy v. Ferns St. Aidan's.

Wexford People

Promoted Links