Tuesday 12 December 2017

Gusserane ease past HWH Bunclody

Kevin Walsh

Gusserane eased past HWH-Bunclody to book a place in the Enniscorthy Farm Systems Junior A Football Championship semi-finals.

Gusserane 2-14 HWH-Bunclody 1-06

In a fiercely contested match-up, Gusserane showed more composure in front of goal and were never in any danger as they recorded an eleven point victory. HWH-Bunclody, to their credit, tried hard to stay in the game but they struggled to get the final ball right and had no answer to a smart performance from their rivals.

Two early goals set the tone for the winners, with both Sean O'Connor and Ciaran Conway firing to the net after Gary O'Grady had opened the scoring with a free. Bunclody replied with scores from John and J.P Connors but O'Grady grabbed his second point to put Gusserane seven points up after twenty minutes.

Both sides were reduced to fourteen men when John Roche and Mickey Connors were sent to the line after an off the ball scuffle and after Ger Wallace and Martin Fitzharris had traded points with J.P and John Connors, Gusserane went in to the break leading by 2-5 to 0-4.

The second half started slowly and we had to wait ten minutes before Sean O'Connor fired over for Gusserane who eventually began to stamp their authority on the game. Bunclody did briefly threaten a comeback when John Dunne found the back of the net but further scores from Matty Flynn, Ciaran Conway, O'Grady and O'Connor moved Gusserane out of reach.

John Connors and substitute, Lee Conroy did reply with two scores for Bunclody but Flynn would add two more to his personal tally in the closing stages before substitute, Seamus Kehoe finished the job with an excellent score from long range.

Gusserane: Micheal Ryan, Tommy Cosgrave, Sean Kinsella, Conor Cleary, James Redmond, Ciaran Conway (1-1), James Kinsella, John Roche, John Roche, Ger Wallace (0-1), Martin Fitzharris (0-1), Matty Flynn (0-3), Sean O'Connor (1-3), Gary O'Grady (0-3, 1 free), Eoin Foran. Subs - Keith O'Grady (0-1) for Fitzharris, Ronan Waters for Foran, Seamus Kehoe (0-1) for Wallace.

HWH-Bunclody: Sean Hogan, Thomas O'Neill, Fergal Kelly, Diarmuid Crane, Adam Sadler, John Dunne (1-0), Jason Cowman, James Taylor, Gearoid Roberts, Darren Murphy, Jay Sommers, Michael Connors, John Connors (0-2, 1 free), Mickey Connors, J.P Connors (0-3, 1 free). Subs - Paul Jackman for Sadler, Podge Doyle for Roberts, Lee Conroy (0-1) for J.P Connors.

Wexford People

Promoted Links