Tuesday 21 November 2017

Harriers hailed as club of year

Two additions to hall of fame

District stalwarts Bernie Radford and Thos. Ryan who were inducted into the District hall of fame
District stalwarts Bernie Radford and Thos. Ryan who were inducted into the District hall of fame
The full line-up of award winners. Back (from left): Tom O'Leary, Michael Ryan, Eddie Carty, Paddy Waters, Robert Rowe, John Foley, Willie White, Enda Whelan, Richard Murphy. Front (from left): Lorraine Fox (on behalf of Celestine Fox), Mairéad Roche, Margaraet Doyle, Thos. Ryan, Nicky Keeling, Bernie Radford, Margaret O'Connor, Louise Duggan, Catherine Carley. Missing: Shane Kinsella
Nicky Keeling of Faythe Harriers receives the club of the year award from Barry Browne and Thos. Ryan
Thos. Ryan (Chairman), Shane Kinsella, Paddy Waters, Tom O'Leary and James Flood (committee)

There was a large attendance on Saturday in the Riverbank House Hotel for the presentation of the Wexford District G.A.A. annual clubperson of the year awards.

In receiving these awards the recipients are being recognised by their clubs for their individual commitments to their club whether as a player, administrator, supporter or any one of the many other roles which are undertaken in a club which contribute to the modern day running of any unit.

Recipients were: Tom O'Leary (Blackwater); Margaret O'Connor (Clonard); John Foley (Crossabeg-Ballymurn); Richard Murphy (Faythe Harriers); Celestine Fox and Catherine Carley (Glynn-Barntown); Mairéad Roche (Kilmore); Enda Whelan (Sarsfields); Michael Ryan (Shelmaliers); Willie White (St. Anne's); Robert Rowe (St. Fintan's); Shane Kinsella (St. Joseph's); Paddy Waters (St. Martin's); Eddie Carty Jnr. (St. Mary's, Maudlintown); Margaret Doyle (St. Mary's, Rosslare); Louise Duggan (Volunteers).

In addition to the individual recipients, two further names were added to the Wexford District hall of fame, namely present District Chairman and St. Anne's stalwart Thos. Ryan, and Bernie Radford of St. Martin's, a long-serving County Board representative for the club, both of whom are highly deserving of the accolade.

The final award was the presentation of the highly-coveted Wexford District club of the year which is chosen by the clubs of the District.

It was deservedly won this time around by Faythe Harriers, and the prestigious award was presented to club Chairman Nicky Keeling and Secretary Pat Henebery by District Chairman Thos. Ryan and Barry Browne of the Riverbank House Hotel, sponsors of the trophy.

Wexford People

Promoted Links

Most Read

Promoted Links