Friday 23 February 2018

Harriers in full control

Una Sinnott in Farmleigh

Naomh Eanna couldn't keep up with Faythe Harriers on Sunday in their Enniscorthy Electrical Wholesale Junior hurling championship Group A encounter at Farmleigh. Faythe Harriers seemed at ease throughout with Naomh Eanna failing to produce any worthwhile fightback.

Faythe Harriers 3-10 Naomh Eanna 0-7

Starting matters on an impressive high, Daniel Lynch, Ben O'Brien and Eoin Roche weren't slow to put their men ahead, producing one goal and two points between them. Niall Kirwan responded well for Gorey with a point but this was soon crossed off by Harriers free-taker, Pádraigh Farrell.

John Doyle and Ben O'Brien shared points before the youthful Gary Molloy minimised Faythe Harriers' lead to four points.

Paul Murphy expressed his supreme football skills by kicking the sliothar to the roof of the Gorey net after a fine catch. And he broke all Naomh Eanna hearts once again by producing another goal before the half-time whistle blew.

Lynch and Farrell were quick off the mark after the second-half throw-in, claiming a point each with Molloy and Kirwan left to respond for the opposition. Substitute Gavin Buggy made an impact for the Harriers and joined his team-mates, Murphy, Farrell and Roche, in the scoring stakes.

Kirwan once again stood tall for Naomh Eanna but with seconds remaining, his point fell short in establishing a Gorey comeback.

Faythe Harriers: Adam McDaid; Stephen Cummins, John Walsh, Cillian Lawlor; Seán Pailing, Fran Cleary, Fiach O Crualaoich; Damien Roche, Paul Gannon; Daniel Lynch (0-2), Pádraigh Farrell (0-3, 2 frees), Eoin Roche (1-1); P.J. Mooney, Paul Murphy (2-1), Ben O'Brien (0-2). Sub. - Gavin Buggy (0-1) for Mooney.

Naomh Eanna: Jack Cushe; John Stafford, Pat Cullen, Kevin Molloy; John O'Brien, Kenneth Byrne, Michael Bernie; John Doyle, Seán Sheridan; Gary Molloy (0-2), Niall Kirwan (0-4), James Byrne (0-1); Darren Cullen, David Nashe, Daithí Moore. Subs. - Dillon Kenny for Kirwan (temp.), Kenny for Moore, Joe Comerford for D. Cullen, Seán Finn for J. Byrne, Evan Dwyer for Nashe.

Referee: Aidan Foley (Shelmaliers).

Wexford People

Promoted Links

Most Read

Promoted Links