Friday 15 December 2017

Heartbreak for Minors in Offaly

It was heartbreak for Wexford in the opening fixture of the Leinster ladies' football Minor championship Division 1A as Offaly snatched a late winner to take the spoils in Clonbullogue on Saturday.

Offaly 0-11 Wexford 1-7

The Slaneysiders did superbly to fight back from 0-10 to 0-6 down to tie the game with a point from Teghan Furlong and a three-pointer from Jane Ryan, but it wasn't to be as Offaly snatched the winner to take an opening round victory.

There were a number of stand-out performances for Wexford, with Bríd Byrne making several saves, Sadbh McCarthy excellent at full-back, and Siobhán Doolan dangerous, but it was Emma Codd who stole the show with a great performance that included four points.

After the hosts took an early lead, Wexford hit back to move 0-4 to 0-3 ahead following a trio of points from Codd and one from Cathy O'Brien.

However, Offaly added the final three scores of the period to lead by 0-6 to 0-4 at the break.

Wexford lost Leinster young player of the year, Emily Coakley, to an injury in the first-half so it was always going to be tough to get back into the game.

However, with Siobhán Doolan and Codd on target, the visitors trailed by just a point at 0-7 to 0-6.

A spurt from Offaly moved them four clear of Wexford as the second-half wore on but Paudge Brennan's side kept battling and drew level after their 1-1 from Furlong and Ryan.

However, it wasn't to be for Wexford who still have away games against Dublin (February 20) and Laois (March 20) to come.

Wexford: Bríd Byrne; Rachel Buckley, Sadbh McCarthy, Annastasia Breen; Cathy O'Brien (0-1), Clare O'Gorman (capt.), Caoimhe Denton; Gillian Barry, Anne Byrne; Emma Codd (0-4), Emily Coakley, Kate Hendrick; Siobhán Doolan (0-1), Aideen Byrne, Ciara Ryan. Subs. - Teghan Furlong (0-1) for Coakley, Emma Cousins for Breen, Sophie McCabe for Anne Byrne, Becky Hamilton for Codd, Jane Ryan (1-0) for Aideen Byrne, also Sophie Lenehan, Annalise Crean, Safia Madkour, Lauren Cousins, Gráinne McCabe, Grace Mernagh.

Offaly: Ava Flynn; Sarah Cummins, Emma Maher, Sarah Bracken; Eimear Flynn, Nicole Farrelly, Emer Lawless; Amy Gavin-Mangan, Emily Bailey; Abbie Dunne, Ellen McLoughlin, Katie Kehoe; Holly Ravenhill, Ellee McEvoy (capt.), Sarah Kehoe. Subs. - Shauna Sweeney, Róisín Finn, Danielle Flaherty, Lauren Dunne, Anna Grehan.

Referee: Niall McCormack (Laois).

In other news, the Wexford ladies' football development committee members have organised a GYW level 1 referees' course for Saturday and Sunday, February 20 and 21.

Farmleigh is the confirmed venue with the time to be confirmed. We are appealing to clubs to please promote this course among their members and to encourage as many females as possible to attend, and we ask you also to advertise it within your area.

Participants must be 17 years and older, and the minimum number of people required for this course to be delivered is 12.

To book your place on the course or if you require additional information, please contact County Development Officer Robbie Garland on 087-9563221 or e-mail

Round three of the Lidl National League is against Tipperary on Sunday, February 14, with the time and venue to be confirmed.

Wexford will be aiming to keep their run going after good victories over Down and Roscommon.

Wexford People

Promoted Links

Most Read

Promoted Links