Sunday 18 August 2019

Horeswood girls on a high

U-14 titles for Taghmon, Ballymurn and Gusserane

The Division 1 champions from Horeswood.
The Division 1 champions from Horeswood.
The Division 1 runners-up from HWH Bunclody
Crossabeg-Ballymurn, the Division 2 championship victors
Taghmon-Camross, Under-14 Division 1 shield champions
Gusserane, who were victorious in the Division 2 shield decider

Dean Goodison

Horeswood are the new county ladies' football Under-14 Division 1 champions after a stunning 4-11 to 3-4 victory over HWH-Bunclody last weekend.

There was very little to choose between the sides in the opening half. Horeswood got off to the brighter start and goaled through hat-trick heroine Eaodain Kent, but their rivals are made of strong stuff and they hit back with a succession of scores to go in at the interval just two points behind at 1-5 to 1-3.

The game opened up after the re-start with Horeswood doing the bulk of the scoring. Leanne Rowe found the net while Kent completed her trio of majors.

Elena Kenny also put in a notable performance in midfield, notching four points. A strong ten-point victory was the end result with Róisín Parker accepting the cup on behalf of her side.

It's clearly a talented bunch of girls down in Horeswood as they follow up other recent under-age success with more silverware. This side also made the Roinn 2 camogie final and were unlucky to lose out in that decider to a superb Kilrush team on Sunday.

The victorious squad for Horeswood was: Kathryn Dempsey; Emer Hunt, Katie Kehoe, Ciara Corish; Sinéad Clancy, Róisín Parker (capt.), Jade Cleere; Elena Kenny (0-4), Leanne Rowe (1-0); Amy Ennis (0-1), Michelle Kinsella (0-2), Kate Foley (0-3); Hazel Cooney, Eadaoin Kent (3-0), Amy Cummins (0-1). Subs. - Caitlyn Barron, Leah O'Connell, Annie Rose Lyng, Yvonne Murphy-Walsh, Hannah Chapman.

It was a memorable day for the Taghmon-Camross Under-14s side last week when they came from behind to take the Division 1 shield on a scoreline of 3-7 to 3-2 against a talented Clonard team.

The Wexford town side scorched into a lead with two early goals but Taghmon-Camross kept nipping away and edged their way back into the game.

Annabelle Dunlop-Doyle notched 1-1, Katie Flynn hit the net and Emma Clarke and Anna Kelly picked off minors to send the victors in 2-3 to 2-2 ahead at the interval.

Emma Clarke put on a scoring clinic in the second-half, adding a goal and three points to her first-half point. Those scores, with a Ciara Banville point, ensured Taghmon-Camross, who only conceded a solitary goal in the second-half, took the shield home with them.

The line-up for Taghmon-Camross was: Nicola Roche; Bronagh Curran, Mairéad Nolan, Emma Kelly; Molly Redican, Katelyn Nash (capt.), Niamh Leacy; Ciara Banville (0-1), Michelle Carty; Emma Clarke (1-4), Anna Eustace, Hannah Roche-Kelly; Annabelle Dunlop-Doyle (1-1), Katie Flynn (1-0), Anna Kelly (0-1). Subs. - Claire Doran, Chloe Monaghan, Katie Murphy, Laura Banville, Shania Quigley, Megan O'Sullivan, Alanna Leacy, Shauna Dunne, Anna Piero-Doyle.

The thrilled mentors of the victorious Taghmon-Camross side included Kathleen Banville, Alan Kelly, Tina Flynn, Eugene Curran and physio Richie Bridges.

An outstanding first-half defensive display propelled Crossabeg-Ballymurn to the Division 2 title against neighbours Blackwater in Farmleigh on a scoreline of 4-10 to 2-3.

The victors' defence, which was led by centre-back Loren Doyle, refused to give their opponents an inch, conceding just a pair of points in the first-half.

At the other end Amy Whelan grabbed 1-2 in the opening period and those scores, tied in with an Amy Fortune point, ensured that Crossabeg-Ballymurn went in at the interval 1-3 to 0-2 ahead.

The natural footballing talents at Crossabeg-Ballymurn's disposal really came to the fore after the resumption and, driven on by the midfield duo of Leah Scallan and Ava Kelly, the game opened up and the scores flowed.

Shaunine McDonald had added her name to the list of scorers by the time Amy Whelan grabbed her second goal. The scores continued to flow with the two Leahs, Scallan and Doran, finding the rigging before the end of the game.

The team lined out as follows: Sarah Nolan; Kate Maher, Caithríona Cullen (capt.), Aisling Fanning; Aisling Foran, Loren Doyle, Polly Frost; Ava Kelly (vice-capt.), Leah Scallan (1-2); Amy Fortune (0-3), Amy Whelan (2-4), Anna Nolan; Shaunine McDonald (0-1), Chloe Kavanagh, Róisín Fortune. Subs. - Leah Doran (1-0), Rioghna Hourihane, Orla May Culhane, Sarah Downes, Mary Moran, Sarah Cosgrave, Lucy Walsh.

The delighted backroom team comprised manager Michael Scallan and selectors Julie Barlow, Matt Kelly, Michael Whelan and Tim Nolan.

Gusserane achieved the impressive feat of going the whole of the second-half without conceding as they took home the Division 2 shield at the expense of an unfortunate Adamstown side on a scoreline of 2-11 to 1-1.

Despite having the better of it, the champs were locked in a tight tussle in the opening period but still led by 1-4 to 1-1 at half-time thanks to a goal from deadly attacker Clodagh Foran.

Foran doubled up with her second major after the break and, with six other forwards on the mark, the scoring was really shared around a front eight who were in superb form.

Not to be outdone, the rearguard was equally as impressive. Anchored by full-back Niamh Mulligan and centre-back Caroline Whelan, the defensive unit was exemplary throughout, giving a real example of defending as a team.

One of the most impressive things about this side is its youth. Five of the starters are still Under-12 while just two of the team are over-age next year, meaning Gusserane are a team to keep an eye on in 2016.

The winners started as follows: Lauren Roche; Onagh Leacy (joint capt.), Niamh Mulligan, Heather Roche; Ella Cahill, Caroline Whelan, Shauna Whitty; Fiona Ryan (joint capt, 0-2), Shauna Hackett (0-1); Clodagh Foran (2-1), Aisling Ryan, Aoife Cullen (0-1); Katelyn Kearon (0-3), Eimear Gabbett (0-2), Jessica Ryan (0-1). Subs. - Aisling Power, Cora Hackett, Maeve Duffy, Chloe Ryan, Eabha Cullen.

Delighted by their charges' victory were the backroom team of joint managers John Ryan and Michael Ryan, as well as mentor Eileen Hackett.

The Division 3 final between Clonee and Baile Dubh Tíre finished in a 2-3 apiece tie and those sides will have to do it all over again to decide the destination of the championship.

Wexford People

Most Read