Tuesday 21 November 2017

Horeswood just hold on

Kevin Walsh

Horesdwood survived a second-half comeback from St. Mary's (Rosslare) to record a one-point victory in their Enniscorthy Electrical Wholesale Junior hurling championship Group B contest in Grantstown.

Horeswood 1-11 St Mary's Rosslare 2-7

With a strong wind behind them, Horeswood dominated the first-half and raced into a three-point lead early on, thanks to a point from Declan Murphy and two frees from Michael O'Hanlon.

Lee Devereux replied with a well-taken free and a '65 for St. Mary's but those were the only scores the Rosslare side produced in the first-half.

Horeswood, on the other hand, were enjoying themselves in front of goal, with scores from Murphy and Darren Shannon being added to by a brace from Leigh O'Brien.

O'Brien also grabbed the only goal of the first-half, albeit a fortuitous one.

The Horeswood forward attempted a long-range point, only to see his effort somehow slip past the St. Mary's goalkeeper and into the back of the net.

The second-half started in the same vein, with the impressive O'Hanlon firing over in the opening seconds. From here St. Mary's began their comeback.

Three dead ball efforts from Lee Devereux eased them back into contention, before a Naomhan Rossiter point and a well-taken goal from Barry Quirke moved them to within just four points of their rivals.

St. Mary's introduced substitute Pete Carr in an attempt to utilise the long ball and the move immediately paid dividends as the big full-forward was pulled to the ground and awarded a penalty. Up stepped Naomhan Rossiter to fire to the net and after the same player had struck over a free, just one point separated the sides.

St. Mary's - minus David Murphy - could not find an equaliser in the end, meaning Horeswood held on by the narrowest of margins to make sure of a quarter-final spot. Rosslare are also through.

Horeswood: David O'Shea; Tommy Quinn, Seán Stafford, Gavin Murphy; Brian Kehoe, Barry Hearn, Ivan Kehoe; Dale Flynn, Shane O'Hanlon; Leigh O'Brien (1-2), Darren Shannon (0-1), Michael O'Hanlon (0-6, 3 frees); Craig Murphy, Jim Wall, Declan Murphy (0-2). Subs. - Cian Gleeson for B. Kehoe, John Bradley for C. Murphy, Damien Hearn for O'Brien.

St. Mary's (Rosslare): Kevin Driver; Gearóid Byrne, Conor Cafferkey, Aaron Kavanagh; Tiarnan Rossiter, Naomhan Rossiter (1-2, 1-0 pen., 0-1 free), Niall Walsh; James Sheil, Larry Morrissey; Derek Brohan, Andrew Murphy, Seán Finan; Barry Quirke (1-0), Ultan Quirke, Lee Devereux (0-5, 3 frees, 2 '65s). Subs. - Stephen Cogley for Walsh, Pete Carr for Devereux, Andy Cummins for Brohan.

Referee: Noel Stafford (Clongeen).

Wexford People

Promoted Links