Thursday 23 November 2017

Hughes the Gorey saviour

Una Sinnott

Final minute points from free-taker and netminder Darragh Hughes saved Naomh Éanna from an Enniscorthy Electrical Wholesale Junior hurling championship relegation final appearance as they forced Monageer-Boolavogue into Group A's bottom spot in Monamolin.

Naomh Eanna 0-13 Monageer Boolavogue 1-8

Hughes and rival number one Morgan Gahan played crucial roles as they both kept out some rasping shots throughout this basement battle.

Diarmuid Fenlon's accurate free-taking kept Monageer-Boolavogue in contention in the first-half as Gorey dominated possession thanks to strong defensive displays from Gary Molloy and Kenneth Byrne. Darren Kelly's effort had the town men ahead by two points at the interval.

As Gorey struggled to increase their advantage, Ray O'Brien's defensive endeavour soon paid dividends as Seán Roche and Cathal Walsh combined on 55 minutes to give Daire Turner the opportunity to level the sides.

Nonetheless, bright prospect Darragh Hughes sent two sublime shots from distance over to guarantee Gorey's second squad a second year in Junior after their Junior 'A' success in 2014.

Naomh Éanna: Darragh Hughes (0-2, 1 free, 1 '65); John Stafford, Pat Cullen, Simon Doran; Darren Kelly (0-1), Kenneth Byrne, Gary Molloy; John Doyle (capt.), Kevin Harrington; Ross Murphy (0-6, 5 frees), Niall Kirwan (0-4), Jack Cushe; John O'Brien (Cork), Michael Bernie, Niall Nashe. Sub. - Daithí Moore for Nashe.

Monageer-Boolavogue: Morgan Gahan (capt.); Seán Doran, Liam Gahan, Ray O'Brien; Shane Gahan, Paul Gahan, Denis Walsh; Diarmuid Breen, Seán McCabe (0-1); Seán Roche, Brian O'Loughlin (0-1), Cathal Walsh (0-2); Patrick Walsh, Bryan Dwyer, Diarmuid Fenlon (0-4 frees). Subs. - Ian Hawkins for O'Loughlin, Robbie Donnelly for Dwyer, Daire Turner (1-0) for Breen, Dwyer for Fenlon, Ed Rowsome for Roche.

Referee: Seán Slaven (Faythe Harriers).

Wexford People

Promoted Links