Friday 20 September 2019

Jamie wins grandmother's cup

Jamie Reck made sure that his side took home his grandmother's cup in the inaugural Peggy Reck Memorial tournament final recently, firing home 1-5 in a man-of-the-match display in Oylegate-Glenbrien's victory over Monageer-Boolavogue.

Oylegate-Glenbrien 2-15 Monageer-Boolavogue 1-4

The sides needed extra-time to separate them in the earlier stages of the competition, so it was no surprise that there was a great turn-out for the game which was played in soaking conditions in Oylegate.

Oylegate-Glenbrien had scraped through on that occasion but they were determined to take the cup home in memory of the late Peggy Reck, and fired 1-5 without reply with scores from Jamie Reck, Fergus Heffernan, Jim White and Peter Nolan.

Monageer-Boolavogue were finding scores hard to come by but Niall O'Reilly and Diarmuid Fenlon worked hard to claw back points before half-time.

Not wanting a repeat of their earlier meeting, Oylegate-Glenbrien kept up the initiative, adding points from Eoin and Daithí O'Mahoney and White.

Monageer-Boolavogue managed to keep things interesting with a Pádraig Flynn goal midway through the half, but when Heffernan grabbed his side's second goal and Reck added three more points to the tally, the outcome was never in doubt.

Fittingly Reck accepted the cup on behalf of his side, and also picked up the man of the match award after a sterling performance.

Oylegate-Glenbrien: John Foley; Robert O'Connor, Bryan McCormack, Ciarán Dagger; Aidan Murphy, Michael Heffernan, Daithí O'Mahoney (0-1); Jim White (0-2), Fergal Doran; Peter Nolan, Peadar O'Mahoney, John Reck; Jamie Reck (1-5), Fergus Heffernan (1-5), Stephen McCormack. Subs. - Eoin O'Mahoney (0-1) for John Reck, Ray Jennings for Heffernan, David Phillips for Murphy.

Monageer-Boolavogue: Seán Murphy; Robbie Donnelly, Chris Daly, Ray O'Brien; Paddy Walsh, Tommy Breen, Dean Fenlon; Seán Roche (0-1), Niall O'Reilly (0-2); Pádraig Flynn (1-0), Matthew Dunne, Diarmuid Fenlon (0-1); Morgan Gahan, Bryan Dwyer, Peter Mernagh. Sub. - Seán McCabe for Gahan.

Referee: Brendan Martin (Ballyhogue).

Wexford People