Friday 23 August 2019

Joseph's back in mix

Dean Goodison

St. Joseph's claimed a big win in their quest for a quarter-final place in the Joyces Expert Intermediate 'A' football championship with victory over Kilanerin in St. Patrick's Park on Thursday.

St. Joseph's 1-15 Kilanerin 1-4

The Bishopswater crew had three battling defeats to their name heading into the clash that really was last-chance saloon.

Martin Lynch's side needed the two points, plus those on offer against Davidstown-Courtnacuddy in their final game, to make the last eight.

Maybe somewhat unusually for St. Joseph's, the first part of that equation was achieved with the minimum of fuss. It was one-way traffic from the off as the victors built a 0-9 to nil lead after 24 minutes.

Andy Moore opened the scoring with a nice point and further minors followed from Wayne Carty (two), John Fenlon, Kyle Dempsey (three), Dean Roche and Eddie Lawlor.

Both 'keepers were called into action to produce saves in that spell and Aidan Hegarty also cracked the post for Kilanerin.

Yet the Gorey District combination had just two late first-half Michael Hegarty frees to show for their opening period endeavours, and it was 0-9 to 0-2 in favour of the Wexford town team at the change of ends.

It didn't get much better upon the resumption as Decky Downes added his name to the list of scorers before Kyle Dempsey goaled from Roche's pass to make it 1-12 to 0-3. Joey's only managed three final quarter points and handed a goal on a plate to Cathal D'Arcy in added time, but it mattered little to the end result.

St. Joseph's will qualify for the last eight in fourth place in Group A and will face the winners of Group B if they can take victory over rock-bottom Davidstown-Courtnacuddy in their final game, but anything other than a win will let Kilanerin back into the mix.

However, with the Davidstown game against Kilrush not taking place last weekend, anything other than the victory St. Joseph's require would be regarded as a big shock.

St. Joseph's: Jamie McMahon; Paddy King (capt.), Robin Dempsey, Shane Barnes; Eddie Byrne, Lee Wadding, Philip Leniston; Decky Downes (0-1), Andy Moore (0-2); John Fenlon (0-1), Wayne Carty (0-2 frees), Gary Byrne; Dean Roche (0-2), Kyle Dempsey (1-4, 0-1 free), Eddie Lawlor (0-2). Subs. - Darren Killeen for Barnes, inj. (20), Darren Dempsey for R. Dempsey, inj. (31), Ian Walsh for King, black card (47), Graham Codd (0-1) for Byrne (48), Paul Bergin for Walsh, temp. (50-53).

Kilanerin: Eoin O Lúasaigh; Shane O'Toole, Enda O'Leary, Micheál Hughes; Stephen Byrne, Cathal Byrne, David Byrne; Niall Gethings, Killian O'Toole (capt.); Willie Murphy, Aidan Hegarty, Niall Furlong; John Cullen, Michael Hegarty (0-4 frees), Pat Forde. Subs. - Donnacha McDonald for Cullen (31), Cathal D'Arcy (1-0) for Hughes (43).

Referee: Brendan Martin (Ballyhogue).

Wexford People

Most Read