Tuesday 23 January 2018

Junior footballers retain Leinster title

By Alan Aherne

The Wexford Junior footballers retained the Leinster championship title with a double scores 2-12 to 0-9 win over wasteful Louth in St. Brigid's Park, Dowdallshill, on Tuesday, June 21.

Wexford 2-12 Louth 0-9

The holders possessed three ace finishers in Sean Ryan (2-2), Conor Sinnott (0-6) and Niall Harney (0-3), with Ian Carty registering the other point.

In sharp contrast, Louth chalked up an incredible 19 wides, including eleven before they finally picked off their first point in the 22nd minute.

They had trailed by 1-3 to nil after a Niall Hughes pass led to Ryan's first goal, and Wexford went on to lead by 1-4 to 0-5 at half-time.

Sinnott hadn't scored by that stage, but he put on an exhibition of point-taking after the break, with four of his half dozen coming from play.

Victory was sealed in the 57th minute when impressive substitute James Stafford robbed a defender and set up Sean 'Mini' Ryan for his second goal.

Online Editors

Promoted Links

Most Read

Promoted Links