Monday 22 January 2018

Kent, Bolger among goals

Cushintown secure spoils

Brendan Furlong

Rathgarogue-Cushinstown's Brendan Fitzpatrick is tackled by Kevin Mahoney of Glynn-Barntown
Rathgarogue-Cushinstown's Brendan Fitzpatrick is tackled by Kevin Mahoney of Glynn-Barntown
Robert Murphy of Rathgarogue-Cushintown under pressure from Eoin Rafferty in Sunday's encounter

A goal in each half proved the decisive scores as Rathgarogue-Cushinstown edged their way to a rather flattering five-point victory over Glynn-Barntown in this Enniscorthy Farm Systems Junior football championship Group B game at O'Kennedy Park, New Ross, on Sunday.

R'garogue-C'town 2-6 Glynn-Barntown 0-7

Very little separated the sides, with the game's opening goal coming in the tenth minute when Chris Kent finished a neat move with a punched effort from a James Bolger lob to the net, giving the New Ross District men a 1-1 to 0-1 lead.

A pointed free from Matthew Joyce kept their opponents in contention but they still trailed by 1-2 to 0-3 at the interval.

The second 30 minutes followed much the same pattern. Another Joyce point kept Glynn-Barntown very much in the running, but once Peter Bolger found the net after 36 minutes to give his side a 2-2 to 0-4 lead, the Killurin crew were very much chasing the game.

The sides continued to trade points, but two late scores from Nicky Sinnott (free) and Enda Doran ensured that Rathgarogue-Cushinstown maintained their winning start to the campaign.

Rathgarogue-Cushinstown: Jonathan Kelly; Robert Murphy, Paudie McGrath, Brian O'Neill; Eoin Whelan (0-1), Peadar Cody, Ollie Bolger; Matthew Cody (0-1), Danny Martin-Carroll; Jimmy Whelan, James Bolger, Chris Kent (1-0); Peter Bolger (1-0), Enda Doran (0-1), Brendan Fitzpatrick. Subs. - Dara Bolger for J. Whelan, Brian Coady for E. Whelan, Nicky Sinnott (0-3, 2 frees) for Fitzpatrick, Jason Dunne for P. Bolger.

Glynn-Barntown: Richard Ryan; Stephen Lyne, Matthew Joyce (0-5, 3 frees), Kevin Mahoney; Kevin Crean, Shane Codd, Eoin Raftery; Conor Fenlon, David Farrell; Dylan Roche, Calum O'Shea, Ian Moran; Gary Sutton, Jamie Crean, Rowan White (0-1). Subs. - Matt Doyle for Sutton, Fionn Cooney (0-1) for White, Paschal Carley for Crean, Mark Carley for Moran.

Referee: Noel O'Connor (Volunteers).

Wexford People

Promoted Links