Monday 14 October 2019

Kilkenny beat Wexford by a single point

Innovate Wexford Park.
Innovate Wexford Park.

By Brendan Furlong

Having forced extra-time with an Andrew Gaffney pointed free three minutes into additional time, Kilkenny went on to secure a single point victory over a battling Wexford outfit in this exciting Leinster minor hurling championship game played at Wexford Park on Saturday afternoon.

Kilkenny 1-18 Wexford 1-17 (after extra time)

It had all started so well for Wexford racing into a 0-3 to 0-0 lead inside seven minutes through two Ciaran O'Connor pointed frees along with a Seamus Casey effort, before Kilkenny opened their account through an Andrew Gaffney ninth minute pointed free. With O'Connor continuing to point the way from placed balls it was Wexford who led 0-10 to 0-6 at the interval, with Gaffney pointed frees keeping the reigning All-Ireland champions in touch.

Within one minute of the restart a fine Seamus Casey goal stretched the homesides lead to 1-10 to 0-6, but with Gaffney continuing to show accuracy from frees Kilkenny managed to remain in contention until a Daniel O'Connell fifty-third minute goal when the home defence failed to clear a loose ball in front of goal, left the minimum separating the sides 1-12 to 1-11. Wexford were clinging to a 1-13 to 1-11 lead entering the closing minutes but two Gaffney pointed frees in additional time brought the sides level, 1-13 each.

The sides could not be separated during the first period of extra time at the end of which they were still tied 1-16 each. After Darren Codd and Gaffney from a 65 exchanged points, it took a Donal O'Connor point two minutes from the end of the second period of extra time to hand the reigning title holders the narrowest of victories.

Kilkenny scorers: D O'Connor 1-3; A Gaffney 0-11, 10f, 0-1, 65; J Donnelly 0-2; R Leahy, N Walsh 0-1 each.

Wexford: S Casey 1-1; C O'Conbnor 0-10, 7f, 1, 65; R White, D Codd 0-2 each; I Carty, J O'Connor 0-1 each.

Wexford: O Foley; D Clarke, B Quigley, S Barden; C Kirwan, A Maddock, C Firman; C O'Connor, J O'Connor; R white, J Pettitt, I Carty; S O'Gorman, M Dwyer, S Casey. Subs: D Reck for Clarke; D Codd for Carty; R O'Connor for Reck; S Stafford for O'Gorman; B Whitty for Casey; J Dunne for Stafford.

Kilkenny: S Murphy; C Doheny, T Walsh, C McGrath; M Cody, D Joyce, R Bergin; R Leahy, J Connolly; C Hennessy, D O'Connor, R Butler; A Gaffney, J Donnelly, R Murphy. Subs: T O'Dwyer for Murphy; S Mahony for Bergin; N Walsh for Hennessy; E Delaney for Connolly; R Murphy for Butler.

Referee: M Murtagh (Westmeath).

Wexford People