Monday 27 January 2020

Kilrush retain A title in derby

Kilrush 3-3 Bunclody 1-4

Kevin Waters, Vice-President of the Rackard League, presents the cup to Kilrush joint captains Eimear Byrne and Tara Kenny
Kevin Waters, Vice-President of the Rackard League, presents the cup to Kilrush joint captains Eimear Byrne and Tara Kenny
The Kilrush girls who retained the Roinn 'A' crown and collected a Rackard League title for the third year on the trot
Bunclody, who were beaten by their close neighbours in the final for the second year in succession

This year's Allianz Cumann na mBunscol Rackard League hurling and camogie finals have proved beyond doubt that the Hurling 365 revolution has improved standards no end.

Once again, the Kilrush Rackard League camogie team continue to be a shining example of this fact. Last year, Kilrush arrived fresh from a Roinn 'C' win in 2015 and marched to their first-ever Roinn 'A' title. This year they hoped to do it all again against the same opposition.

A fantastic start gave Kilrush a huge confidence boost. Hermione Murphy got the game's first score when she raced through for a point.

Amy Kehoe added the first goal when she saw her lobbing effort go straight into the net. Kilrush continued this good form with a Sadhbh Buttle goal moments later. Hermione Murphy then got her second point to open up an early eight-point lead.

Bunclody were clearly rattled but fought back through Leah Morris who continually carried ball out of defence. Goalkeeper Emma Murphy also protected her goal when put under pressure later in the half.

Bunclody got their first score of the final in the 20th minute when Caoimhe Jordan burst through for a driving point. A Jacqui Kehoe free put the half-time scores at 2-3 to 0-2.

Caoimhe Jordan made another trademark run to give her side a good start to the second-half, but this was quickly undone when Tara Kenny pushed a loose ball over the line for Kilrush's third goal.

As Bunclody searched for a comeback, Rebecca O'Connor and Caoimhe Jordan both saw shots saved by Sinéad Breen in the Kilrush goal. A pointed free was all that they could gain from this positive period of play.

Bunclody got the goal that their hard work deserved when Caoimhe Jordan saw her long-range free sneak over the line to bring her own personal tally to 1-3.

Unfortunately, there would be no revenge this year as time was up. Over the course of the hour, Kilrush controlled this game with an excellent display of long striking and top-class first touch all over the field.

This completed a second Roinn 'A' title in a row, a third county camogie title in a row, and also half of a county title double on the night. What a remarkable achievement for a parish heavily involved in the Hurling 365 programme.

Kilrush: Sinéad Breen, Mary Claire McCrea, Niamh O'Rourke, Aoife Kinsella, Karen Tomkins, Nicola Corrigan, Eimear Byrne, Rebecca Kavanagh, Sadhbh Buttle, Tara Kenny, Hermione Murphy, Amy Kehoe, Kayla McGannon, Róisín Dillion, Sophie Allen, Aine Devereux, Hannah Mulroe, Kella Smyth, Amy Power, Tilda Murphy, Shauna McSweeney, Ellie May Mahon, Anna Tomkins, Rachel Dee, Amber Walsh, Laura Kehoe, Kate Butler, Chloe Tobin, Grace Tobin, Katie Moorhead.

Bunclody: Emma Murphy, Rebecca O'Neill, Róise Dunbar, Riona Mahon, Katie Moynihan, Jacqui Kehoe, Aoife Farrell, Leah Morris, Caoimhe Jordan, Sorcha O'Rourke, Ella McDonald, Rebecca O'Connor, Catherine O'Connor, Erin O'Leary, Ana Fernandez, Jodie Kelly, Mairéad Mahon, Aimee Walsh, Emily Doyle, Kellie Cloak, Sarah Kenny, Leanne Mahon, Lauren Jordan, Chafia Flynn, Clodagh O'Byrne, Holly Hewson, Grace Tully, Corie Fitzgerald.

Wexford People

Most Read