Saturday 20 January 2018

Kilrush send Gers packing

Una Sinnott

Kilrush-Askamore's Frank Lancaster gets away from James Ryan of Geraldine O' Hanrahan's during the IAFC quarter-final at Farmleigh
Kilrush-Askamore's Frank Lancaster gets away from James Ryan of Geraldine O' Hanrahan's during the IAFC quarter-final at Farmleigh

Kilrush-Askamore can now prepare themselves for the semi-final stages in the Joyce's Expert Intermediate 'A' Football Championship. The black and amber starlets found themselves claiming a comprehensive win over Geraldine O'Hanrahan's last Saturday evening at a bright Farmleigh pitch.

Kilrush-Askamore 2-11 Ger O'Hanrahan's 0-8

Geraldine O'Hanrahan's brought great determination to the game and Sean Culleton was the main man with this attitude as he claimed his side's first point from play. Brian Hayden was keen to cancel this out, however, and Rodney Lancaster edged his men one ahead to follow. Eoin Kelly man-aged to level matters once again before Kilrush found their top gear with Frank Boggan, Brian Hayden, Gavin Sunderland and Tommy Devereux all claiming points for their squad.

David Crowdle and Lancaster swapped points once again before Brian Hayden most the most of dead balls within the Geraldine O'Hanrahan's defence.

With that passage of play, Askamore found themselves with a convincing lead and this was one which the New Ross district men never managed to break down. Kieren Buttle did make an attempt however, as well as teammate Dylan Egan. Nonetheless, Kavanagh and Tomkins were to eager to tame and a burst of goals from the on-form Frank Boggan and influential substitute, PJ Nolan, double their lead.

Butler proceeding his pointing act but time was running short for the blue and yellow outfit. There were strips of determination evident in Dylan Egan and Sean Culleton but the black and amber lead was too heavy to demolished with five minutes on the clock remaining. Substitutions meant new legs for Askamore and a defeated Geraldine O'Hanranhan's team were left with a disappointing journey home.

Kilrush-Askamore: John Harte, Thomas Byrne, Frank Lancaster, Patrick Nolan, Tom Kavanagh (0-1), Tommy Devereux (0-1), Colm Buttle, Garry Doran, Shane Tomkins (0-1), Edmund Kenny, Rod-ney Lancaster (0-2) Gavin Sunderland (0-1), Padraig Byrne, Frank Boggan (1-1), Brian Hayden (0-5, 4f). Subs: Barry Kelly for Garry Doran, PJ Nolan (1-0) for Edmund Kenny, Eoin Murphy for Tom Kavanagh, Ted Kinsella for Gavin Sunderland, Conor Travers for Brian Hayden.

Geraldine O'Hanrahan's: David Caulfield, Tony Murphy, John Sutton, Sean Crowdle, James Ryan, Robbie Vallejo, Conor Cleere, Sean Culleton (0-1), Jamie Cullen, David Crowdie (0-1), Eoin Kelly (0-1), Matt Crowdle, Dylan Egan (0-3), Kieren Buttle (0-2, 1f), Mark Lee. Subs: Kevin Grangel for Mark Lee.

Wexford People

Promoted Links