Monday 20 November 2017

Kinsella points way for Askamore in derby win

Una Sinnott

Ted Kinsella's accuracy guided Askamore to victory over Craanford in the Gorey District Junior 'B' hurling championship final. The committed black and amber panel can now look forward to a county semi-final after a comprehensive win on their neighbouring soil of Camolin.

Askamore 0-15 Craanford 0-12

Tensions were high during this local derby but Askamore's second-half performance proved too powerful for Craanford to overcome. The influential free-taker, Ted Kinsella, was in top form for the entire match and his consistency allowed Askamore to break down a seven-point lead for Craanford in the first-half.

Ger Lyons began his scoring tally in the opening minute with a pointed free from well within his own back line. From here on, Craanford accelerated to their top form with Jamesie Nolan and Martin Doyle bringing their men seven points to the good.

In response to this fine spell from the Junior All-County League winners, Askamore prospered within minutes. Ger Kinsella certainly played up to his captain's role as he produced a monumental performance throughout. Owen Carton and Jimmy Cowman did their parish proud too by creating and securing many scores between them.

These scores were too plentiful for Craanford to maintain their lead. Lyons, Nolan and James Redmond powered on for their team but they found themselves level with Askamore within the final ten minutes.

Brendan Foxe helped Craanford in the attempt to snatch a final lead but Ted Kinsella couldn't be tamed and he floated over a final three points. This ace finishing brought matters to a close and an unsuccessful ending to Craanford's championship campaign.

However, the clubs will be doing it all over again shortly as they have been drawn together in the Intermediate hurling championship quarter-final.

Askamore: Davy Owens; John Murphy, John Donoghue, Darragh Power; Seán Foley, Fionn Fortune, Owen Carton (0-1); Jamie Quinn, Paul Browne (0-1); James Cowman (0-1), John Byrne, Ted Kinsella (0-12, 5 frees, 1 '65); Ger Kinsella, John Harte, Jamie Murphy. Sub. - Christy Kinsella for Cowman.

Craanford: Seán Lyons; Mick Lancaster, Jack Kenny, Patrick Lancaster; Pat Kenny, Peter Shortle, Ger Lyons (0-4, 3 frees); Brendan Foxe, Mick Shortle; Cian O'Toole, Jamesie Nolan (0-7, 6 frees), James Redmond; Bob Flynn, Calum O'Toole, Martin Doyle (0-1). Subs. - John Lancaster for Flynn, Gary Keating for Redmond.

Referee: Pádraig Byrne (Ballyfad).

Wexford People

Promoted Links