Monday 11 December 2017

Late onslaught powers Crossabeg-Ballymurn to Wexford District crown

Michael Heffernan

A late onslaught from Crossabeg-Ballymurn saw them claim a comfortable victory in the end of this Wexford District Junior 'B' football championship final in Hollymount on Saturday, as they capitalised on a penalty miss from St. Mary's (Maudlintown) at a vital stage of the game.

Crossabeg-Ballymurn 1-14 St. Mary's (Maudlintown) 0-6

With five minutes remaining and four points between the sides, James Murray saw his spot-kick hit the post just as his side were gaining momentum, having come back from a five-point deficit midway through the half.

In the two minutes that followed, Crossabeg-Ballymurn rattled their opponents with 1-2, giving them a nine-point lead going into the closing minutes when it could have easily been only one point, had Murray's effort found the net.

But in fairness, Crossabeg-Ballymurn were the better side throughout and even when the margin was only four points, it seemed a gap that was always going to be too much for St. Mary's to bridge.

Billy Roche was in flying form and got Crossabeg-Ballymurn off the mark, hitting three points in the opening minutes before Murray responded in the seventh minute.

Conor Maddock put his side three in front again before Murray's second effort was sandwiched by two from Roche to give his side a four-point lead at the break.

Maudlintown grafted hard in the second-half and scores were exchanged on four occasions, with Roche, Kevin Sludds, Glen Murphy and Eoghan Kehoe on target for Crossabeg-Ballymurn, and Barry Harpur and Murray replying for the town team.

This left four between them with the Wexford men looking like they were beginning to get the upper hand, and the penalty kick it seemed was their lifeline.

They were denied by the woodwork however, and Emmet Kehoe's goal, followed by points from Roche, Kehoe and Sludds, ensured Crossabeg-Ballymurn took home the silverware.

They will now meet Fethard in the county semi-final in Taghmon on Friday at 7 p.m.

The other penultimate round game has been put on hold as the Gorey District isn't completed yet so Monageer-Boolavogue must wait.

Crossabeg-Ballymurn: James White; Oisín O'Connor, Mick Eviston, Conor Gormley; Conor Barlow, Eoin O'Connor, Shane Whelan; Conor Maddock (0-1), Eoghan Kehoe (0-2); Barry Coughlan, Billy Roche (0-7, 1 free), Daithí Redmond; Kevin Sludds (0-3), Emmet Kehoe (1-0), Luke Redmond. Subs. - Glen Murphy (0-1) for Eoghan Kehoe, James Grannell for Barlow, Kehoe for D. Redmond, Barlow for L. Redmond, D. Redmond for Whelan.

St. Mary's (Maudlintown): David Dunbar; Nicky Hayes, Keith Doyle, Lee Dryburgh; Barry Creane, Barry Harpur (0-1), Jason Daly; Kieran Moroney, John Carty (0-1); Barry Roche, Paul O'Connor, Alan Flood; Ian Nolan, Conor Keeling, James Murray (0-4, 2 frees). Subs. - Billy Nolan for Nolan, Elliot Malone for Creane.

Referee: Ger Lynch (Blackwater).

Wexford People

Promoted Links

Most Read

Promoted Links