Sunday 15 December 2019

Late William is remembered


Gearóid Devitt (Co. Secretary), Martin Doyle (Shelmaliers), Mick Morrissey (St. Martin’s), Mike Phelan (St. Mary’s, Maudlintown) and James Flood (District Treasurer) at the Wexford District awards night
Gearóid Devitt (Co. Secretary), Martin Doyle (Shelmaliers), Mick Morrissey (St. Martin’s), Mike Phelan (St. Mary’s, Maudlintown) and James Flood (District Treasurer) at the Wexford District awards night

Brendan Furlong

St Fintan's G.A.A. club remembered one of its finest, the late William Doyle, at the annual Wexford District awards held in the Riverbank Hotel.

Last April the club lost one of its most loved stalwarts with the death of William, who lived with the green and gold running through his veins, a love of the club which was passed on to him by his dearly-departed father, the late Frank.

William was embedded in the club from the time he learned to walk, travelling to games with his dad, and playing up through the under-age grades into the adult teams before moving on to management.

A former pupil of Mayglass N.S. before moving on to St. Peter's College as a boarder, he went on to play at the highest level of colleges hurling and football.

William won multiple under-age titles with the club, going on to captain the Junior 'B' championship winning hurling team of 1992 as well as playing a massive role in the Junior 'A' football championship success of 1999.

He also served as club Secretary for a number of years, later moving on to a role as team selector and mentor, and he was delighted with the back-to-back Intermediate 'A' and Intermediate football wins of 2012 and 2013.

In latter years he had been hugely involved in the under-age sector, mentoring the young members whom he coached at Under-6 and Under-8 levels.

He loved everything about St. Fintan's and the club, with precious and loving memories to remember William. bestowed the District clubperson of the year award to his family on this special occasion.

A Hall of Fame award was presented to long-serving Kilmore G.A.A. stalwart Dick Dillon.

Dick has been actively involved in the club since his playing days, and is the current Vice-President, while also serving on committees, as well as being the overseer of the pitches and facilities.

His first success was with the county-winning Juvenile hurling and football teams of 1957, adding more county titles in both Minor codes in 1959, along with county Junior success of 1962.

He completed his collection with the Echo Shield Senior hurling success of 1967, beating then county champions, Geraldine O'Hanrahans, in the final.

A skilful player in both hurling and football, Dick comes from a strong G.A.A. family and few could find a stronger clubman. He is one of life's true G.A.A. gentlemen.

Winner of the Faythe Harriers Hall of Fame award was Nicky Keeling who was born with the purple and gold colours in his blood. His work for the club has been immense, being Treasurer for over 27 years before progressing to the role of Chairman.

The club of the year award went to Shelmaliers, following their fine feat in winning the Senior football championship title for the first time.

Other individual club award winners were: Brian Curran (Blackwater), Martin Gordon (Na Fianna Clonard), Pat O'Rourke (Crossabeg-Ballymurn), Brian Walsh (Faythe Harriers), Lorcan Doyle (Glynn-Barntown), Patrick Sinnott (Kilmore), Anne Carthy (Our Lady's Island), Martin Bergin (Sarsfields), Martin Doyle (Shelmaliers), Philip Rochford (St. Anne's), Jim McCarthy (St. John's Volunteers), Mick Morrissey (St. Martin's), Mick Phelan (St. Mary's, Maudlintown), Niall McDonnell (St. Mary's, Rosslare).

Wexford People

Most Read