Sunday 17 December 2017

Leinster honours as Rosbercon clinch Senior 'D' crown

The triumphant Our Lady of Lourdes squad
The triumphant Our Lady of Lourdes squad

Our Lady of Lourdes secondary school made history on a stormy day in Fenagh, Co. Carlow, when they won their first-ever provincial camogie final in very difficult playing conditions.

Our Lady of Lourdes 1-3 Heywood C.S. 0-4

This Senior 'D' decider was a replay of the originally drawn match that took place at Waterford Institute of Technology Sports Campus two weeks earlier. Trailing at half-time by three points, having played into a gale-force wind, confidence was high among the girls from the south-east.

As evidenced by the final result, scores were hard to come by for both teams, owing partly to the strong wind but most particularly to the determination and hard tackling exhibited.

It is true to say that neither team was found wanting in any department in terms of sheer effort and commitment to their cause. On that note, it was a shame that one team would walk off the Carlow sod in disappointment, albeit the side with marginally greater skills triumphed.

An equalising goal for the Co. Wexford side in the early stages of the second-half seemed set to launch them to a likely victory, playing with a very strong wind and having started the period in flying form.

However, the Laois ladies had other ideas and made it very difficult for Rosbercon to add to their tally by using an extra defender and closing down the spaces close to goal.

As the game entered the final ten minutes, it was backs to the wall for Rosbercon, leading by just two points, and visions of the original fixture came to onlookers' minds at that stage.

In the previous meeting, Rosbercon led by three points and with the final puck of the game in extra-time Heywood equalised from a free in front of goal. It was heartbreak for Rosbercon and almost a sense of victory for Heywood, but on this occasion with a 'thou shall not pass' attitude, the Trojan defence led by captain and stalwart Mairéad O'Shea stood firm and saw the task to completion.

This Leinster championship was very much won by a (very young) panel of 28 players, all of whom contributed greatly to this outstanding achievement since the start of training back in late September. Also worthy of mention was the outstanding support provided to the team by the vociferous students, teachers, parents, grandparents and siblings of the players.

All in the school are extremely proud of this bunch of fantastic young ladies and, while we are enjoying their great success, we wish them all the best for their upcoming All-Ireland semi-final in Ulster on Saturday, February 13, against St. Louis (Kilkeel). Attentions, for some, in the meantime have turned though to their mock Junior and Leaving Cert. exams - best of luck!

Our Lady of Lourdes panel: Elizabeth Phelan, Laura Hackett, Rachel Buckley, Aishling Cullen, Sarah O'Sullivan, Mairéad O'Shea, Darcy Bolger, Michelle Kinsella, Aimee Hanrahan, Oonagh Doyle, Eimear O'Shea, Hannah Moran, Jen Dollard, Rhys Hogan, Amy Hogan, Annie Kirwan, Niamh Higgins, Lauren Dollard, Chloe Mullally, Sinéad Lanigan, Oonagh Murphy, Eimear Lyons, Cora Power, Siobhán Cummins, Clodagh Knox, Ciara Corish, Alison Foskin, Fiona O'Shea.

Wexford People

Promoted Links

Most Read

Promoted Links