Monday 20 November 2017

Magic Molloy guides Naomh Eanna to Shield title

Dean Goodison at Craanford

The Naomh Eanna side who defeated Starlights in the Under-16 Premier football Shield clash at Craanford
The Naomh Eanna side who defeated Starlights in the Under-16 Premier football Shield clash at Craanford

Naomh Eanna tagged on the Gorey Guardian Coiste na nOg Under-16 Premier Football Shield to the hurling title they claimed six days earlier with a clinical victory against Starlights in Craanford on Monday evening of last week.

Naomh Eanna 2-15 Starlights 0-08

The victors were made to battle to complete the double, particularly in the first half, but they really put on the afterburners in the second half to claw themselves away from the fierce Starlights challenge.

Just two points separated the sides at the break (1-4 to 0-5). The Bellefield boys bossed the first quarter with Michael Dempsey and Aaron Dobbs helping them into a 0-4 to 0-1 lead.

However, star man and captain for Gorey, Michael Molloy, goaled with a sensational lob in the 24th minute to tie the game and with the full-forward adding points, and Tiernan Doyle also raising a white flag, their half time lead was two.

If the second quarter was good to Gorey, they owned the third. They didn't concede in those 15 minutes and added minors from Molloy (3) and Charlie McGuckin, while Eddie Murphy found the net with a classy finish to increase the lead to 2-8 to 0-5.

Starlights did manage a few late frees but it was Naomh Eanna who were on top with David Christie, Sean Delaney, Shane Stokes and Evan O'Dwyer all getting in on the scoring act to complete a great night for their side.

Naomh Eanna: Ryan Price; Tom Cleary, Jack Cullen, Corey Myler; Sean Delaney (0-1), Eoin Molloy, Michael Duke; Joseph Naughton, David Christie (0-1); Eoin Kennedy, Tiernan Doyle (0-1), Charlie McGuckin (0-1); Jack Ryan, Michael Molloy (capt, 1-9, 0-2 frees), Eddie Murphy (1-0). Subs. - Nathan Byrne for Myler, black card (25), Evan O'Dwyer (0-1) for Ryan (36), Larry Cullen for Cleary (53), Oran Fitzpatrick for Kennedy (53), Shane Stokes (0-1) for Murphy (59), Derek Woods for Naughton (59), also, Jordan Nolan, Dillon Connolly, Jack Molloy, Patrick Dwyer, Aaron Byrne, Eoin Collins, Robert Kenny, Michael Dunne, Ronan Thornton, Cian Travers, Martin Kavanagh, Andrew Cashin.

Starlights: Anto Larkin; Kevin Kehoe, Martin Ryan, Nathan O'Connor; Cian Larkin, Darren Fortune, Jack Mythen; Jack Doyle, Aaron Dobbs (0-3 frees); Craig Foley (0-2 frees), J.P. Farrell, William Doyle; Michael Dempsey (0-3), Colm O'Brien, Dylan McVeigh. Subs. - Dathai Medcalf for C. Larkin, black card (12), Ciaran Sheil for W. Doyle (29), Sam Murphy for O'Brien (39), Ryan Doran for McVeigh (43), Callum Kinsella for Dobbs (48), Bradley Fortune for Medcalf (54), Gavin Murphy for Farrell (57), also, Joe Collins, Alex Horan, Oran Carty, Sean Breen.

Wexford People

Promoted Links