Wednesday 18 September 2019

Martin's turn on the style and power in second-half to dismiss the boys in blue

ML. Heffernan

A Dominant second-half performance from an impressive St. Martin's side saw them devastate Oylegate-Glenbrien in this Greenstar Under-21 hurling Premier championship encounter in Oylegate on Tuesday.

St. Martin's 5-16 Oylegate-Glenbrien 1-12

A close-fought game for 35 minutes, this turned into a real nightmare for the home side, as the St. Martins forward line put on a masterclass in front of the posts by bagging four goals, with Joe Coleman and Barry O'Connor looking particularly impressive.

It was score for score in the opening quarter with Coleman, Darren Codd, Adrian Ryan, Joe, Barry and Rory O'Connor finding the range for the visitors, and the home side providing their answers through Séamus Casey, Pa Cullen and Barry Dunne.

When Casey pointed his fifth free in the 22nd minute it brought his side within a point, but in the following minutes St. Martin's began to show signs of what was to follow in the second-half.

A point from Seán Stafford was followed by a brilliantly-taken goal from Barry O'Connor when he struck overhead on a rebound after Coleman's shot was originally saved by Eddie Mernagh.

Mikey Coleman add a point minutes later to leave seven between the sides at the break.

On the re-start Harry O'Connor traded scores with Casey but then St. Martin's landed the killer blow in the eighth minute.

Coleman expertly took down a high delivery and finished to the net from close range before setting up O'Connor for his second goal 30 seconds later, leaving his side well clear.

With St. Martin's now in complete control, Coleman added his second goal ten minutes from the end which was complemented by a Stafford goal and points from Mikey Codd and Nicky Greene, with Shane Reck grabbing a late consolation goal for Oylegate-Glenbrien in the dying minutes.

St. Martin's: Dylan Byrne; Conor Firman, Donal Kelly, Johnny Hamilton; Adrian Ryan (0-1), Aaron Maddock, Mikey Coleman (0-1); Joe O'Connor (0-1), Jake Firman; Barry O'Connor (2-1), Joe Coleman (2-5, 0-2 frees), Darren Codd (0-1); Rory O'Connor (0-2), Seán Stafford (1-1), Harry O'Connor (0-1). Subs. - Nicky Greene (0-1) for R. O'Connor, Conor Coleman for B. O'Connor, Tony Kelly for C. Firman, Mikey Codd (0-1) for D. Codd.

Oylegate-Glenbrien: Eddie Mernagh; Lee Kehoe, Kieran Lambert, Micheál Reck; Shane Reck (1-0), Damien Reck, Ciarán O'Brien; Ciarán Hourihane, Brian Doran; Conor Heffernan (0-2), John Reck, Pa Cullen (0-1); Conor Doyle, Seamus Casey (0-8, 6 frees), Barry Dunne (0-1). Subs. - Conor Hill for O'Brien, Stephen Ring for Kehoe, Jack Reck for John Reck, Kevin Reck for Dunne.

Referee: James Flood (St. Mary's, Maudlintown).

Wexford People