Tuesday 23 January 2018

Men in red bounce back

Brendan Furlong

Fethard followed up their opening game defeat with a much-improved performance to comfortably see off the challenge of Geraldine O'Hanrahans in this Top Oil Intermediate hurling championship Group B game in Cushinstown on Sunday.

Fethard 1-16 Geraldine O'Hanrahans 1-9

Victory for Fethard was important if they were to keep their championship aspirations alive, and this they achieved with a composed display that saw them dominate the second 30 minutes. With a little more accuracy up front their winning margin could have been far greater.

Geraldine O'Hanrahans were suffering their second successive defeat which could see them struggle once the championship resumes following the inter-county activity. They were mainly reliant on the accuracy of Eanna Martin from placed balls, with their lack of penetration in attack coming back to haunt them despite receiving a steady supply of ball, particularly through the opening half.

Three early points through two Mark Wallace frees and Garrett Foley helped the eventual winners into a 0-3 to nil lead, before Eanna Martin opened his side's account with a seventh-minute pointed free. For the remainer of the half little separated the sides as they continued to trade points, at the end of which Fethard led by 0-6 to 0-4.

An early Dylan Egan point on the resumption reduced the deficit to the minimum, but Fethard responded with two excellent Ciarán Dwyer points.

And with Wallace picking off points from placed balls, they had stormed into a 0-13 to 0-6 lead by the end of the third quarter.

After Liam Walsh had pointed for the town side, the game was put beyond their reach when Mikie Dwyer flashed a ground shot to the net seven minutes from the end, extending his side into a 1-14 to 0-7 lead.

While the Geraldines managed a late Matt Crowdle goal, it was too late to alter the result.

Fethard: Niall Roche; Danny Mullan, Rúairí Tubrid, Martin Power; Mick Roche, Kevin Rowe, John Tubritt; Garrett Foley (0-1), Daire Barden; Graham O'Grady (0-2), Mark Wallace (0-6 frees), Bryan Power (0-2); Mikie Dwyer (1-1), Damien Browne, Ciarán Dwyer (0-4).

Geraldine O'Hanrahans: Mark Purcell; Keith Purcell, Tony Murphy, James Ryan; Barry Kelly, Eanna Martin (0-6, 5 frees), Liam Walsh (0-1); Anthony Purcell, Conor Cleere; Eoin Kelly, Gary Hill, Ronan Carroll; David Crowdle, Mark Crowdle (1-1), Dylan Egan (0-1). Sub. - Stephen Somers for B. Kelly.

Referee: John Diskin (Bannow-Ballymitty).

Wexford People

Promoted Links