Thursday 14 December 2017

Mighty Monageer-Boolavogue win

Brendan Furlong

It was as easy as the final score line suggests as Monageer-Boolavogue coasted into the semi-finals with a comprehensive 14-point victory over a disappointing Glynn-Barntown outfit in this Enniscorthy Farm Systems Junior football championship quarter-final at Oylegate on Saturday afternoon last.

Monageer/Bool 1-16 Glynn-Barntown 0-5

While their victory was comprehensive, Monageer-Boolavogue did not always make the best of their considerable advantage, but equally, Glynn-Barntown never looked as if they would find the measure of clearly superior opponents.

Scoring was limited through the opening quarter at the end of which the eventual winners led 0-2 to 0-0, points courtesy of James Sweeney and Cathal Walsh, but they also kicked six wides many from very scoreable positions.

The Wexford District side had to wait until the 16th minute for their opening score a Fionn Cooney pointed free, their solitary first half score, as their opponents went on to add further points through Ian Hawkins, Cathal Walsh (2), Matt Dunne, free, and Sean Murphy to lead 0-7 to 0-1 at the interval.

Having gone into that six point lead, the game was as good as over given the control of the Monageer side, which they maintained right through the second period. After Sean Murphy and Fionn Cooney, free, had exchanged early second half points, the eventual winners added three further points through Damien Fenlon, James Sweeney and a Walsh free, while Kevin Creane managed on in between for his side.

The games solitary goal arrive at the end of the third quarter a fine finish from corner-forward Cathal Walsh, leaving no way back for the opposition, as their control continued right to the final whistle. Their winning margin would have been greater but for a further eight second half wides.

Monageer-Boolavogue: Niall Finn; Paul Gahan, Chris Daly, Declan Kelly; Niall O'Reilly (0-2), Brian O'Loughlin, Paddy Breen; Damien Fenlon (0-1), Conal Nolan; Mick Sweeney, Sean Murphy (0-3), Ian Hawkins (0-1); James Sweeney (0-2), Matthew Dunne (0-2, 0-1 free), Cathal Walsh (1-5, 0-2 frees). Subs: Mark Gahan for Daly; Colm O'Loughlin for Nolan; James Gahan for Hawkins; Michael Rossiter for Brian O'Loughlin; Ray O'Brien for Mark Gahan; Denis Walsh for Kelly.

Glynn-Barntown: Richard Ryan; Dylan Roche, Pascal Carley, David Clarke; Shane Codd, Calum O'Shea, Kevin Creane (0-1); Matt Doyle, Conor Fenlon; James Stafford, David Farrell (0-2, 0-1 free), Kevin Mahoney; James Creane, Fionn Cooney (0-2 frees), Killian Joyce. Subs: Jimmer Doyle for Stafford; Shane Carley for Joyce; Johno Flynn for Clarke; John Lacey for Flynn (black card).

Wexford People

Promoted Links

Most Read

Promoted Links