Saturday 16 December 2017

Minors lose camogie shield final

Dean Goodison

Wexford ended their season with a disappointing loss to Dublin in the Leinster Minor 'A' camogie championship shield final in Clonad, Co. Laois on Sunday.

Dublin 2-9 Wexford 1-7

The Slaneysiders were denied a chance of a place in the final proper by the metropolitans in their final drawn group game, and the same side ended their bid to finish the season with the consolation prize too.

It's a defeat that ends a so-so season for the county Under-18s. The group stages were as far as their All-Ireland aspirations went, and finishing last of four (although Kildare did withdraw from the 'A' championship) in Leinster, despite being competitive, is not overly encouraging.

This clash started well for James Flynn's charges as they flew into a 1-2 to 0-1 lead after just nine minutes. Leah Walsh opened the scoring with a nice point that was followed by Shauna Kelly's similar effort.

When Ellen Roche's ball into the goalmouth was spilled by Faye McCarthy at the feet of Kelly, the Wexford attacker made no mistake, pulling to the empty net from close range.

Catherine Costello nailed her second free, Nadine Murphy pointed and Laura O'Mahony drilled a clinical finish to Laura Brennan's net in a three-minute spell to give Dublin a 1-3 to 1-2 lead at the end of the first quarter.

A Chloe Foxe '45 levelled the game after 20 minutes but Wexford only added one further Oonagh Doyle point as Dublin ended the half with a string of points to go in 1-7 to 1-4 ahead at the interval.

Julia Buckley increased her side's lead to four just after the re-start but Wexford had their best spell of the game for the next 15 minutes, putting Dublin under serious pressure.

Foxe grabbed a point and county Senior Una Sinnott added two more as Wexford closed the gap to one (1-8 to 1-7). However, that was as close as they managed to get.

Costello's fifth point halted the Wexford momentum and Alex Griffin's driving run and goal five minutes from time ended their challenge, the scoring and the inter-county Minor season.

Wexford: Laura Brennan; Katie Murphy, Lauren Carty, Leanne Foley; Doireann Kavanagh, Sarah O'Connor, Amy Cardiff; Una Sinnott (0-2), Laura Dempsey; Oonagh Doyle (0-1), Chloe Foxe (0-2, 1 '45), Leah Walsh (0-1); Shauna Kelly (1-1), Noelene Shanahan, Ellen Roche. Subs. - Aoife Doyle for Dempsey (43), Rachel Kelly for S. Kelly (58), also Róisín Kelly, Aoife McCrea, Áine Ennis, Annie Dempsey, Michelle Kehoe, Aoife Curran, Niamh Walsh, Muireann Ni Corcráin.

Dublin: Faye McCarthy; Sinéad Murphy, Ciara Griffin, Emma O'Flynn; Zenouska Murphy, Eimear O'Riordan, Jane Edwards; Ellen McGovern, Hannah Hegarty; Alex Griffin (1-1), Grace O'Shea, Catherine Costello (0-5 frees); Laura O'Mahony (1-0), Nadine Murphy (0-1), Niamh Sketon. Subs. - Julia Buckley (0-2) for Skelton (14), Ciara Buchanan for Edwards (58), Claire Murray for N. Murphy (59), also Emma Loo, Ellen Joyce, Róisín McLoughlin, Ciara Carolan, Megan Lewis, Ciara Glynn.

Referee: Ray Kelly (Kildare).

Wexford People

Promoted Links

Most Read

Promoted Links