Monday 22 January 2018

Mitch bags crucial goal

ML. Heffernan

A solid team performance saw Marshalstown-Castledockrell account for Our Lady's Island in this Top Oil Intermediate 'A' hurling championship Group A second round game in a sunny Oylegate on Sunday.

2-12 Our Lady's Island 0-12

After suffering a heavy defeat in their first outing, the Enniscorthy District side looked determined to get the win under their belt and they proved too strong for an Our Lady's Island outfit that failed to create scoring chances throughout.

The opening five minutes were lively, with Our Lady's Island getting a point immediately after the throw-in from Darragh Sinnott.

That lead didn't last long however, as the ball broke in behind the Our Lady's Island defence after the puck-out and found its way to Mitch Jordan who fired home for a well-taken goal.

Fintan Mullins and Dylan Murphy responded in the following minutes to make it level but Marshalstown-Castledockrell began to gain control of things in defence and midfield, which ultimately enabled their forwards to take the next three scores with two frees from Eoin Bennett and one from play by Frank Kelly.

Marshalstown-Castledockrell finished the half strongly as points from Dean Maloney were cancelled out on two occasions by John Cullen and Andrew Quigley before Bennett added two more frees and Jordan put them six points clear just before half-time.

Our Lady's Island showed a lot more bite in the early exchanges of the second-half as they reduced the gap to three with points from Jack Pettit, Nicky Keane and Maloney.

But that was as close as they got as Marshalstown-Castledockrell regained control again, and after Bennett exchanged two scores with Pettit and Eoin Kinsella, they finished the half strongest with a goal from Andrew Quigley and another point from Jordan.

Marshalstown-Castledockrell: Mickey Kelly; Jack Quigley, David O'Connor, Michael Hughes; Tom Bennett, Joe Kelly, John Ormonde; John Cullen (0-1), Eoin Bennett (0-6 frees); John Frayne, Michael Morris, P.J. O'Brien; Micheál Jordan (1-3), Andrew Quigley (1-1), Frank Kelly (0-1). Sub. - Colm Bennett for Kelly (HT).

Our Lady's Island: Noel Dempsey; Gary Walsh, Eamon Maloney, Davy Corish; Robbie Reville, Fintan Mullins (0-2, 1 free, 1 '65), Colm Kinsella; Jack Pettit (0-2, 1 free), Joey Murphy; Dylan Murphy (0-1), Nicky Keane (0-2), Eoin Kinsella (0-1); Darragh Sinnott (0-1), Dean Maloney (0-3, 2 frees), Eoin Wright. Subs. - Cathal Devereux for J. Murphy (HT), John Walsh for Wright (43), Rory Reville for Maloney (49).

Referee: Francis Neville (Shelmaliers).

Wexford People

Promoted Links