Wednesday 17 January 2018

Mixed fortunes

One victory and one loss for Clongeen

Brendan Furlong

Three points in the final quarter helped Faythe Harriers emerge with a deserved four-point victory over Clongeen in this Junior hurling championship Group B game in St. Patrick's Park, Enniscorthy.

Faythe Harriers 0-14 Clongeen 0-10

The Wexford town side were the more clinical up front, managing to utilise their scoring chances to greater advantage than their opponents. Indeed, Clongeen struggled for scores for the most part despite enjoying their periods of superiority.

Lee Murphy had his side's three opening points from placed balls, with Emmet Kent managing a pointed free in between for the opposition.

Further points from Kent (free) and Paul Curtis had the sides level (0-3 each) after 13 minutes, but the accuracy of Murphy from placed balls helped his side into an 0-11 to 0-5 interval lead.

Clongeen managed to increase the tempo of their game on the resumption, responding with points from two Kent frees and an effort from Collie Byrne to reduce the deficit to three (0-11 to 0-8). When Kent followed with a pointed '65 along with a free, just the minimum separated the sides after 46 minutes.

With Clongeen failing to score in the final quarter, a pointed Murphy free along with efforts from Anthony Walsh and Shane Howard helped the town side to an eventual four-point victory.

Faythe Harriers: Ian Scallan; Cormac Byrne, Nicky Lawlor, Cillian Lawlor; Daniel Lynch, Colm Heffernan, Fiach O Crualaioch; Dean Walsh (0-2), Lee Murphy (0-9, 6 frees, 1 '65, 1 line ball); Con O Donnagáin (0-1), Shane Howard (0-1), Damien Roche; Peter Walsh, Brian Denton, Ian Mitchell. Subs. - Seán Pailing for Roche, Jack Murphy for Mitchell, Anthony Walsh (0-1) for O Donnagáin.

Clongeen: Ricky Rochford; Danny O'Grady, Anton Stafford, Barry Foxe; Marty Reville, Paudie Cullen (0-1 free), Donal Whelan; Paul Curtis (0-1), Donal Murphy; Ger Foxe, Emmet Kent (0-7, 6 frees, 1 '65), Tom Donovan; Peter Anthony Wall, Christopher Cullen, Collie Byrne (0-1). Subs. - Enda Murphy for Kent (temp.), Paudie Cahill for Wall, Enda Murphy for D. Murphy, Jamesie Rochford for Donovan.

Referee: Paul Browne (Clonee).

Clongeen 2-20, St. Mary's (Rosslare) 1-12: Clongeen came out victorious during a free-scoring encounter with St. Mary's (Rosslare) in the Junior hurling championship Group B in Hollymount, writes Jason Goodison.

Clongeen, who never fell behind over the course of the match, were good value for their win as they moved to the top of the table, sending Rosslare to the bottom in the process.

Any 20+ points tally requires a positive start and that is exactly what they got. Sharpshooting Emmet Kent registered his team's opening four scores before Paudie Cullen made the net bulge when he was found by Collie Byrne.

Paul Kinsella dominated the Mary's scoring but could not prevent the New Ross District club from bringing a seven-point lead to the break, as a treble from Enda Murphy with additions from Donal Murphy and the inevitable Kent secured a 1-10 to 0-6 advantage.

Within seconds of the re-start, Clongeen picked up where they left off when Murphy impressively pointed. Yet, St. Mary's were determined to make a game of it and had reduced the deficit to just three points at one stage in the half.

Paul Kinsella fired home past 'keeper Ricky Rochford to add a major to his three early points and cut the gap significantly.

Just when Clongeen sensed danger they turned up the heat again. As if going up through the gears, they notched a succession of quick points, through Paudie Cahill and Kent, before Christopher Cullen's goal from close range ended the game as a contest in the final minute of normal time.

Clongeen: Ricky Rochford; Danny O'Grady, Anton Stafford, Barry Foxe; Marty Reville, Paudie Cullen (capt., 0-1 free), Donal Whelan; Emmet Kent (0-8, 4 frees, 1 '65), Donal Murphy (0-2); Paul Curtis (0-2), Enda Murphy (0-4), Paudie Cahill (1-3); Collie Byrne, Christopher Cullen (1-0), Ger Foxe. Sub. - Peter Anthony Wall for Byrne (59).

St. Mary's: David Murphy; Gearóid Byrne, Conor Cafferkey, Emmet Byrne; Larry Morrissey (0-1), Tiarnan Rossiter, Philip Lambert; Ned Power, Ultan Quirke; Ian Kavanagh (0-1), Andrew Murphy, Pete Carr; Barry Quirke (0-1), Paul Kinsella (1-9, 0-7 frees, 0-1 '65), Oscar Pitt. Subs. - Richard Bent for Quirke (37), Andy Cummins for Murphy (40), Robert Butler (capt.) for Pitt (48).

Referee: Seán Slaven (Faythe Harriers).

Wexford People

Promoted Links

Most Read

Promoted Links