Monday 19 August 2019

Monageer-Boolavogue outpoint Tara Rocks for convincing Junior hurling victory

Monageer-Boolavogue 0-14 Tara Rocks 0-6

Michael Heffernan

Monageer-Boolavogue found their rhythm in the second-half of this Permanent TSB Junior hurling championship Group A game, as they easily saw off Tara Rocks in Oylegate on Saturday.

There was a lot left to be desired in the opening half of this encounter, with neither side giving the spectators much to look at in a low-scoring, lack-lustre affair.

After going three points clear in the opening quarter thanks to James Sweeney, Cathal Walsh and James Gahan, the eventual winners found themselves back to square one as Wayne Farrell, Colm O'Keeffe and Patrick Fortune levelled matters with eight minutes remaining in the half.

Niall Finn put Monageer-Boolavogue ahead before Tara Rocks gaolie, Lee Owley, exhibited the first sign of what would turn out to be a splendid display of goalkeeping, pulling off a magnificent double save just before half-time.

Monageer-Boolavogue began the second-half much like the first, hitting three points without reply from Matthew Dunne, Shane Kehoe and an excellent line ball from Seán McCabe.

Dunne's second point was sandwiched between two outstanding Owley saves, before Gahan put his side four points clear midway through the half.

Things were not looking good for Tara Rocks at this stage and it was 18 minutes before Michael Byrne finally resumed the scoring for them.

This didn't deter the Enniscorthy District side in the slightest as they hit three more unanswered points, before Owley did his party piece once more, brilliantly stopping McCabe's blasted effort after he was put clear by Dunne.

Monageer-Boolavogue were happy to take their points however, and both Dunne and Gahan rounded off fine shows with late scores to give their side an eight-point win.

Monageer-Boolavogue: Morgan Gahan; James Breen, Ray O'Brien, Paddy Walsh; Lee McHale, Paddy Breen, Robbie Donnelly; Adrian O'Dowd, Stephen Lacey; Cathal Walsh (0-1), Matthew Dunne (0-5, 2 frees), Shane Kehoe (0-1); James Gahan (0-3), Niall Finn (0-1 free), James Sweeney (0-2). Subs. - Colm McGannon for O'Dowd, Seán McCabe (0-1 line ball) for Finn. 

Tara Rocks: Lee Owley; Colm Naughter, Enda O'Leary, Shane Tobin; Shane O'Toole, Murt Sheehan, Lorcan Clare; Gearóid O Súilleabháin, Rhys Owley; Michael Byrne (0-2, 1 free), Wayne Farrell (0-1), Emmet O'Toole; Luke Devitt, Colm O'Keeffe (0-1), Patrick Fortune (0-3, 2 frees).

Referee: Seamus Whelan (Oylegate-Glenbrien).

Wexford People

Most Read