Monday 26 August 2019

Moran nets four times

Buffers Alley 5-12 Ferns St. Aidan's 3-13

Brian Carty

Four goals from John Moran propelled Buffers Alley's second team to their third win from four games in the Permanent TSB Junior hurling championship Group A after a 5-12 to 3-13 victory over the Ferns St. Aidan's seconds at Camolin on Saturday.

The fact that all of Moran's green flags came within breathing space of the small square illustrates Buffers Alley's policy of direct ball into the imposing full-forward, and that approach reaped dividends twice inside the first eight minutes as they built an early 2-1 to 0-4 lead.

Eddie Cullen was his usual accurate self from placed balls, converting six frees from six attempts, and even fortutiously goaling from a '65 from the last puck of the half as Ferns transformed that early setback into a 1-11 to 2-5 interval advantage.

But Buffers Alley really upped the ante on the resumption, as James Foley notched a quick-fire 1-2, including a poacher's goal on 43 minutes as the Monamolin and Kilmuckridge men surged ahead by 3-9 to 1-12 by the end of the third quarter.

Moran soon swiped to the net to complete his hat-trick and open up a six-point safety blanket, and although the experienced Anthony Dwyer pulled a goal back for Ferns, Moran's dream evening continued as he deftly flicked home Buffers Alley's fifth goal five minutes from time.

Dwyer put a gloss on the scoreboard for Ferns with a goal deep into injury time, but his late defiance was too late as they now boast a 50% win record from four games. Buffers Alley are motoring nicely, and have now scored at least three goals every time they have won.  

Buffers Alley: Darren O'Brien (0-1 free); Paudie Kinsella, Alan Doyle, Colm Og Doran; Conor Kenny, Thomas Dempsey, Matty Cardiff; Aaron Redmond, Owen Dempsey (0-3 frees); James Foley (1-3, 0-1 free), Jim Hughes (0-4, 2 frees), Domhnall McArdle; John Furlong (0-1), John Moran (4-0), Lee Murphy. Sub. - Leonard Lacey for Foley, temp.

Ferns St. Aidan's: Niall Byrne; Paul Lancaster, Colm Whelan, Peter Nolan; Colin Leacy, Seán Walsh, Derek Thorpe; Peter O'Toole, Ivan Meegan; Ciarán Doran (0-2), Eddie Walsh (0-2), Eddie Cullen (1-7, 0-7 frees, 1-0 '65); Ben Cowman (0-2), Paddy O'Leary, Anthony Dwyer (2-0).

Referee: Paddy Brady (Ballygarrett).

Wexford People

Most Read