Saturday 20 January 2018

Naomh Eanna relegated

The two most recent winners of the Junior A Hurling Championship battled it out to avoid dropping back to the fifth tier of Wexford hurling and it was Davidstown-Courtnacuddy who came out on top in Camolin on Saturday afternoon last.

Davidstown-Courtnacuddy 1-19 Naomh Eanna 2-7

The Boolabawn side picked the optimum time to find their form, putting in their most complete and devastating performance of the season to see off Naomh Eanna by nine points.

Playing with the breeze Gorey kept the game close in the first half. David Dunne rounded his marker early on and fired high into Jack Cushe's net. With Wally Furlong on song and Johnny Delaney picking off scores Davidstown moved 1-5 to 0-2 ahead.

However, impressive performer Eoin McGuckin pulled to the rigging following a scramble in the goalmouth and John O'Brien scored a booming effort from inside his own half to keep Naomh Eanna in touch, trailing 1-7 to 1-5 at the interval.

The second half proved to be a different story entirely. Davidstown had hit the crossbar through Greg Jacob and the post through Dunne in the first half but were more prudent after the change-around choosing to take the safe points.

With Furlong nabbing four after the break, Dunne registering five and Delaney on target with dead-balls the result wasn't in question as the game moved into the dying embers.

Still, Gorey didn't throw in the towel, they battled away and were rewarded with a stunning consolation goal, with Kirwan pulling a long, hopeful punt, from over his head to the rigging past Ger O'Leary in the goal.

However, in the end it was Davidstown-Courtnacuddy who hang on to their status as a fourth tier side, with a relatively injury-free season they could even challenge for the title next season.

On the other hand Gorey have a young squad with plenty more talent coming through, it's unlikely that their second string will be down for long.

Davidstown-Courtnacuddy: Ger O'Leary; Ger Martin, Mick Murphy, Daniel Delaney; Issac Wheelock, Mark Byrne, Paddy Kennedy; Paul Sheridan, Billy Martin; Walter Furlong (0-6), Greg Jacob (0-1), James Doyle (0-1); Alan Campion, David Dunne (1-6, 0-1 free), Johnny Delaney (0-5 frees). Subs. - Stephen Sheridan for P. Sheridan, Eoin Keane for Doyle, inj, Donal O'Shea for Wheelock, Daryl Freeman for Byrne, Kevin Keane for J. Delaney.

Naomh Eanna: Jack Cushe; John Stafford, Pat Cullen, Daniel Sunderland; Simon Doran, Ross Murphy, John O'Brien (0-1); John Doyle, Seamus O'Donnell; Michael Bernie, Niall Kirwan (1-1), Sean Sheridan; Eoin McGuckin (1-1), Michael Murphy (0-4 frees), Alan McFadden. Subs. - Colin Sheehan for Sheridan, Evan Dwyer for McFadden.

Referee: Paul Browne (Clonee)

Wexford People

Promoted Links

Most Read

Promoted Links