Tuesday 23 January 2018

Naomh Eanna setting hot pace

Dean Goodison

Aidan Hegarty has Naohm Eanna's Padraig Doyle breathing down his neck
Aidan Hegarty has Naohm Eanna's Padraig Doyle breathing down his neck

Naomh Eanna are the early front-runners in the Joyces Expert Intermediate 'A' football championship Group A after four goals in the first ten minutes finished off Kilanerin without a sweaty brow being present in Monamolin on Saturday.

Naomh Eanna 4-7 Kilanerin 1-5

A comfortable win over Davidstown-Courtnacuddy in their opening fixture ensured that Gorey began this game with their tails up. They put that confidence to good use in the opening stages as the Kilanerin defence chased shadows.

Pádraig Doyle was the first to see the net ripple in the second minute and his major was followed by a David O'Brien free. Seán Doyle hit the bar in the sixth minute but the ball fell kindly for his fellow forward Barry Kinsella who was alert and ready to punch to the net from close range (2-1 to nil).

Dara McDonald added a third with a clinical finish past Willie Murphy in the eighth minute before William Cullen and O'Brien shredded the Kilanerin defence again to set up Kinsella for his second major in four minutes.

The sides shared four points evenly in the final 20 minutes of the first-half. Bobby Hughes, stand-out performer for Kilanerin, notched a brace of frees for his side while at the other end William Cullen and Kinsella were on target (4-3 to 0-2).

Points by David O'Brien and Seán Doyle followed a third Hughes minor early in the second-half.

A mini purple patch, in which John Gethings bundled home from close range and Michael Byrne got his name on the scoresheet, gave Kilanerin some respite but there was no denying Naomh Eanna the points.

Naomh Eanna: Seán Sheridan; John Stafford, Brendan Travers, Tom Stafford; Peter Travers (capt.), Simon Doran, Joseph O'Connor; Conor Hughes, John O'Brien (Ramsfort); Dara McDonald (1-0), Pádraig Doyle (1-0), Seán Doyle (0-1); Barry Kinsella (2-1), David O'Brien (0-2, 1 free), William Cullen (0-2, 1 free). Subs. - Kevin Molloy (0-1) for McDonald (44), Kenneth Byrne for Sheridan (49), John O'Brien (Cork) for Kinsella (51), Aodhán Doyle for D. O'Brien (53).

Kilanerin: Willie Murphy; Donnacha McDonald, Enda O'Leary, David Byrne; Cathal Byrne, Aidan Hegarty, Darragh Geoghegan; Bobby Hughes (capt., 0-4, 3 frees), Cillian O'Toole; Michael Hegarty, Pat Forde, Darren Murphy; Conor Byrne, Michael Byrne (0-1), James Graham. Subs. - Cathal D'Arcy for McDonald (26), Peter Nash for Geoghegan (40), John Gethings (1-0) for M. Hegarty (51), Cathal Hayes for Graham (58), Luke Devitt for C. Byrne (60).

Referee: Kevin Carty (Sarsfields).

Wexford People

Promoted Links