Monday 19 August 2019

No stopping Gorey

Naomh Eanna 7-14 Geraldine O'Hanrahans 1-6

Robbie Vallejo of Geraldine O'Hanrahans is chased by Seán Doyle (Naomh Eanna)
Robbie Vallejo of Geraldine O'Hanrahans is chased by Seán Doyle (Naomh Eanna)

Jason Goodison

Naomh Eanna pummelled a weak Geraldine O'Hanrahans outfit in Group A of the Joyces Expert Intermediate 'A' football championship at St. Patrick's Park on Saturday.

A flurry of first-half goals, including two in stoppage time, sealed the New Ross side's fate early in this encounter and left them embarrassed by their Gorey counterparts.

The Geraldines actually took the lead, scoring the game's opening point through Barry Roche, but that was as good as it got for them.

Gorey replied with two quick minors before raising green flags in both the eleventh and 13th minutes. Seán Doyle batted the first home, while David O'Brien's effort appeared to be misjudged by Kevin Grangel between the sticks and the ball sailed into the top of the net.

Points from Eoin Kelly, Michael Cleere and Roche were hardly enough to keep New Ross in touch as 'Pedro' Travers added his first goal, Gorey's third, which Grangel got hands to but couldn't keep out.

Further Doyle points left three goals between the sides heading into the 30th minute (3-6 to 0-6), but when Naomh Eanna struck for goal twice more before the whistle, the Geraldines' task changed from challenging to insurmountable.

Brendan Travers and David O'Brien were the scorers before the break with Peter Travers adding his second immediately after the re-start after a strong run from midfield.

The Geraldines, who had thrown in the towel long ago only managed one second-half score, albeit a goal, when Jack Foran finished neatly after good work from Kyle Grangel. Gorey were far more successful than that, adding a string of points, the majority of which came courtesy of Gearóid Cullen and Doyle.

Naomh Eanna fittingly closed their tally by raising the green flag once more. O'Brien found Joseph O'Connor in acres of space. He had all the time in the world to steady himself before side-footing into the bottom left corner past Grangel.

The final whistle sounded moments later, putting Geraldine O'Hanrahans out of their misery on a day which will be removed quickly from within the New Ross club's memories.

Naomh Eanna: Kenneth Byrne; Joseph O'Connor (1-0), Daniel Sunderland, Seamus O'Donnell (0-1); Aodhán Doyle, Pádraig Doyle, Conor Hughes (0-1); Brendan Travers (1-0), John O'Brien; Jack Cushe (0-1), Peter Travers (capt., 2-2), Kevin Harrington; David O'Brien (2-2, 0-1 free), Gearóid Cullen (0-3), Seán Doyle (1-4). Subs. - Gary Molloy for O'Connor (31), O'Connor for P. Travers (42).

Geraldine O'Hanrahans: Kevin Grangel; Michael Cullen, Gary Cash, Barry Kelly; Michael Cleere (0-1), Matt Crowdle, Eoin Kelly (0-1); Robbie Vallejo (0-1 free), Jake Byrne; Jack Foran (1-0), David Crowdle, Dylan Wickham (0-1); Tony Murphy, Enda Kelly, Barry Roche (0-2). Subs. - Brian Haberlin for Wickham (35), Danielas Neikis for Roche (37), David Merrigan for Byrne (38), Kyle Grangel for Cleere (42).

Referee: Paddy Brady (Réalt na Mara).

Wexford People

Most Read