Friday 19 January 2018

Nolan nicks win with late point

Dave Devereux

A Barry Nolan point in the sixth minute of injury time saw Rapparees snatch victory from the jaws of defeat in a hard-fought Enniscorthy Electrical Wholesale Junior hurling championship quarter-final in Oylegate on Sunday afternoon last.

Rapparees 1-13 Faythe Harriers 0-15

It was fitting that sharp-shooter Nolan should grab the winner, as he contributed 1-9 of his side's tally, but it was certainly tough to take for Faythe Harriers as they manfully tried to keep their opponents at bay playing into a stiff breeze in the second-half.

They looked like they would do enough, holding a three-point advantage as the game ticked into time added on, but Barry Nolan's wind-assisted sideline cut found the corner of the net in the 64th minute and two minutes later he followed it up with the winning point from the halfway line.

Playing with the gale in the first-half Faythe Harriers built up a 0-13 to 0-4 half-time lead.

Jack Murphy impressed in midfield for the Wexford town side and he slotted over a magnificent seven points in the opening half hour, while Eoin Roche, Paul Gannon, John Bridges Con O Donnagáin, Dean Walsh and Conor Halligan all kept the scoreboard ticking over.

Barry Nolan replied with three frees for Rapparees, with their only score from play coming from Lee Murphy in the ninth minute.

Con O Donnagáin stretched the lead to ten within seconds of the restart, but the Enniscorthy outfit then reeled off the next six points of the game.

Barry Nolan converted three frees on the trot, before Seánie O'Gorman, Cathal Murphy and Aaron Ronan chipped in with a point apiece to leave just four points between the sides.

John Bridges looked to have settled the Harriers nerves when he superbly split the posts after a weaving run with 56 minutes on the clock to make it 0-15 to 0-10, but Barry Nolan scored 1-3 before the final whistle to break their hearts.

Rapparees: Gary Murphy; Ronan Kirwan, John Barron, Mark Redmond; Ciarán Cronin, Cathal Murphy (0-1), Brian Ronan; Seánie O'Gorman (0-1), Lenny Connolly; Lee Murphy (0-1), John Ryan, Barry Nolan (1-9, 1-0 line ball, 0-6 frees); Aaron Ronan (0-1), Anthony Peare, Patrick Hore. Subs. - Tom Ryan for Peare, Caolan Carty for Hore, Conor Farrell for L. Murphy.

Faythe Harriers: Adam McDaid; Cormac Byrne, Killian Lawlor, Danny Walsh; Damien Roche, Fran Cleary, Fiach Crowley; John Bridges (0-2), Jack Murphy (0-7, 4 frees, 1 '65); Conor Halligan (0-1), Shane Howard, Eoin Roche (0-1); Dean Walsh (0-1), Con O Donnnagáin (0-2), Paul Gannon (0-1). Subs. - Seán Pailing for Gannon, Ian Mitchell for Howard, Paudie Clancy for E. Roche.

Referee: Shane Quinn (Ballygarrett).

Wexford People

Promoted Links

Most Read

Promoted Links