Saturday 20 January 2018

O'Hanlon shines for Horeswood

Horeswood booked their place in the Enniscorthy Electrical Wholesale Junior hurling championship semi-finals with a convincing victory over Faythe Harriers in New Ross on Saturday.

Horeswod 0-20 Faythe Harriers 1-10

Spurred on by a fantastic performance from wing-forward Mick O'Hanlon, Horeswood were always in control and were well worth their seven-point winning margin in the end.

Gavin Murphy and Ivan Kehoe got the ball rolling for the winners, hitting two well-taken points inside the opening five minutes.

Mick O'Hanlon then stepped forward to grab the first of his twelve points when firing over a long-range free and, although Shane Wilde answered back with his own dead ball effort, Horeswood continued their dominance with four more O'Hanlon scores being added to by a first for Declan Murphy.

Wilde replied with a free and a '65 towards the end of the half for the Harriers, but Horeswood went in five points up at the break.

Wilde's accuracy from the dead ball moved the Harriers closer early in the second-half, but midfielders Dale Flynn and Shane O'Hanlon both picked off impressive scores for Horeswood and Mick O'Hanlon was still having a big say.

Granted, he was afforded too much space by the Harriers defence, but his shooting from range was outstanding.

And, after he had fired over another three, Leigh O'Brien added two to put Horeswood nine points ahead with ten minutes to play.

Faythe Harriers did grab a lifeline when Ben O'Brien hit the net, and they threatened to mount a comeback with five straight points, two from Stephen Kearney and three more frees from Wilde.

That was to be as good as it got for the town side however, and after Declan Murphy, who had been a constant thorn in the side of the Harriers defence, grabbed his second point, it was fitting that Mick O'Hanlon had the final say with two well-taken frees.

Horeswood: David O'Shea; Tommy Quinn, Seán Stafford, Gavin Murphy (0-1); Brian Kehoe, Barry Hearn, Ivan Kehoe (0-1); Shane O'Hanlon (0-1), Dale Flynn (0-1); Leigh O'Brien (0-2), Lorcan O'Brien, Mick O'Hanlon (0-12, 6 frees); Craig Murphy, Jim Wall, Declan Murphy (0-2). Sub. - Cian Gleeson for C. Murphy.

Faythe Harriers: Adam McDaid; Cormac Byrne, John Walsh, Fiach O Crúalaíoch; Tomás Campbell, Fran Cleary, Jack Murphy; Shane Wilde (0-8, 7 frees, 1 '65), Damien Roche; Daniel Lynch, Seán Pailing, Eoin Roche; Stephen Kearney (0-2), Ben O'Brien (1-0), Paul Gannon. Subs. - Cillian Lawlor for Pailing, Stephen Cummins for D. Roche.

Referee: John Tobin (Geraldine O'Hanrahans).

Wexford People

Promoted Links