Monday 19 August 2019

O'Loughlin points way

All-county hurling league semi-finals

Hosts Monageer-Boolavogue moved into the All-County Hurling League Division 3 final with a hard-fought victory over Geraldine O'Hanrahans on Saturday.

Monageer-Boolavogue 1-14 Geraldine O'Hanrahans

The victors were indebted to another excellent display of shooting from experienced marksman Niall O'Loughlin and to a late goal from corner-forward James Gahan.

Things started brightly for the visitors with Eoin Kelly (two) and Danny Conway on the scoreboard as they raced into a 0-3 to nil lead after six minutes.

Back came Monageer-Boolavogue with five-in-a-row as Niall O'Loughlin (three), James Gahan and Tommy Breen were all on target.

Kelly and David Crowdle made it 0-5 each but another O'Loughlin point in the 28th minute gave the home side the narrowest of advantages at the interval.

Despite scores from Anthony Purcell and Aidan Somers, Monageer-Boolavogue still led by 0-9 to 0-7 after 38 minutes.

The New Ross side got within one at 0-10 to 0-9 after a Jimmy Smith minor, but O'Loughlin nailed three consecutive points to up the locals' lead to four.

Smith's 55th-minute penalty, after Crowdle was fouled, looked to set up a dramatic finish but their opponents wrapped up victory two minutes later with a Gahan goal at the second attempt.

Monageer-Boolavogue will now meet Ballyfad in the decider after the Kilanerin side overcame St. James' in the other last four clash.

Monageer-Boolavogue: Seán Murphy; Niall O'Reilly, Stephen Murphy, Paul Gahan; Dean Fenlon, Paddy Breen, Mick Sweeney; Mark Walsh, Damien Fenlon; Colm O'Loughlin, Tommy Breen (0-2), Mark Gahan (0-1); James Gahan (1-1), Niall O'Loughlin (0-10, 8 frees), Peter Mernagh. Subs. - Ray O'Brien for P. Gahan, Diarmuid Fenlon for O'Loughlin, Seán Roche for M. Gahan, David Breen for J. Gahan.

Geraldine O'Hanrahans: Mark Purcell; Dave McCarthy, Tony Murphy, Stephen Kelly; Aidan Somers (0-1), Conor Cleere, James Ryan; Gary Hill (0-1), Anthony Purcell (0-1); Barry Kelly, Keith Purcell, Stephen Somers; David Crowdle (0-1), Danny Conway (0-1), Eoin Kelly (0-4, 2 frees). Subs. - Jimmy Smith (1-1, 1-0 pen.) for Purcell, Bryan Haberlin for Conway, Colin Fenlon for S. Kelly.

Referee: Damien Donovan (St. John's).

Wexford People

Most Read