Wednesday 17 January 2018

Oulart stroll to another crown

Reality check for St. Ibar's

Aine Lacey of St. Ibar's/Shelmalier is closed down by Diane Ryan and Shelley Kehoe
Aine Lacey of St. Ibar's/Shelmalier is closed down by Diane Ryan and Shelley Kehoe
The successful Oulart-The Ballagh team

Oulart-The Ballagh dealt St. Ibar's/Shelmalier a bit of a reality check as they sauntered past their old foes to take the Senior camogie league title in St. Patrick's Park on Saturday.

Oulart-The Ballagh 3-16 St.Ibar's/Shelmalier 1-3

The Hollymount girls got off to a flying start to the championship, beating Rathnure with a sextet of goals the previous Monday, but they were brought back down to earth with a bang as Oulart-The Ballagh ran riot to take the league crown in style.

St. Ibar's/Shelmalier got off to a flying start when Kate Kelly's free found its way to Deirdre McMahon, and the Wexford Intermediate regular blasted past the unusual sight of Una Leacy between the sticks.

The goal didn't really damped Oulart-The Ballagh's enthusiasm for the task as Ursula Jacob notched a trio of points to level. The points kept flowing for the Leinster champs as the Kehoe twins added their names to the scoreboard, as did Brídín Redmond as Oulart-The Ballagh went 0-9 to 1-0 ahead.

Despite the heroics of Anne-Marie Kelly in goal, Oulart-The Ballagh did finally find the net in the 28th minute through retired county player Ursula Jacob.

Kate Kelly pulled a point back before the interval but her side still trailed by nine (1-10 to 1-1).

Even with youthful exuberance added to the side in the guise of Sadbh McCarthy and Eadaoin Fitzgerald, St. Ibar's/Shelmalier couldn't stem the flow.

A Louise Sinnott point was followed by Shelley Kehoe and Ursula Jacob scores as Oulart-The Ballagh led by 1-13 to 1-1.

Kate Kelly added her second point in the 40th minute but Diane Ryan was soon in for goal number two. Jacob scored her eighth point to make it 2-15 to 1-2 before Shelley Kehoe added her third.

Katrina Parrock scored with seven minutes remaining to break the Oulart-The Ballagh run, but there was still time for a third goal, scored by Laura Sinnott.

Una Leacy collected the winners' shield on behalf of her side from County Chairperson Ailish Whitty.

Oulart-The Ballagh: Una Leacy (capt.); Ciara Storey, Karen Atkinson, Aideen Brennan; Katie Murphy, Mary Leacy, Stacey Redmond; Shelley Kehoe (0-3), Louise Sinnott (0-1); Diane Ryan (1-1), Shauna Sinnott, Katie Gallagher; Stacey Kehoe (0-2), Ursula Jacob (1-8, 0-2 frees, 0-2 '45s), Brídín Redmond (0-1). Subs. - Aoife Dunne for Gallagher, Laura Sinnott (1-0) for Ryan, Ryan for U. Leacy.

St. Ibar's/Shelmalier: Anne-Marie Kelly; Maeve Quill, Leona Tector, Ciara Donohoe; Mag Kelly, Bridget Curran, Michelle Harding; Aine Lacey, Aine Barron; Kate Kelly (0-2, 1 free), Katrina Parrock (0-1), Deirdre McMahon (1-0); Niamh Walsh, Jessie Harding, Shauna Kelly. Subs. - Sadbh McCarthy for Quill, Eadaoin Fitzgerald for Curran, Larah Campbell for Barron.

Wexford People

Promoted Links

Most Read

Promoted Links