Sunday 18 August 2019

Oylegate run riot in facile success

Oylegate-Glenbrien 6-13 Shelmaliers 1-13

Brian Carty

Goal-hungry Oylegate-Glenbrien maintained their unbeaten form in the Enniscorthy Farm Systems Junior football championship after a resounding 6-13 to 1-13 victory over Shelmaliers' second string in Saturday's fourth round Group B duel in Monageer.

The confident victors rattled the net no less than eleven times in their three previous games, and had raised four more green flags by the half-time juncture when they held sway by 4-6 to 1-5.

A neat goal from Seamus Casey on 13 minutes was immediately cancelled out by Seán Keane-Carroll ghosting in to palm to the net as the sides were deadlocked at 1-3 apiece at the end of the first quarter.

However, that was the last time they were close, as Podge Doran goaled on 16 minutes, while Marty Kelly added their third goal on 26 minutes before Doran found the net again two minutes from half-time to widen the gap to ten points at the change of ends.

And Oylegate-Glenbrien outscored the losers by 1-5 to 0-3 in the third quarter, with Casey finding the net on 44 minutes as the score stood at 5-11 to 1-8.

Job done, the winners subsequently cleared the bench to give some of their key players an early night ahead of this weekend's tasty Senior hurling clash with Glynn-Barntown. But they didn't slow up as Marty Kelly landed 1-2 before the end to seal a second win against their relatively close neighbours in two different codes this year.

Shelmaliers will join Oylegate-Glenbrien in the quarter-finals with at least a draw in their final Group B game against Buffers Alley.

Oylegate-Glenbrien: Eddie Mernagh; Lee Kehoe, Michael Heffernan, Bryan McCormack; Jamie Reck (0-1), Shane Reck, Ciarán Hourihane (0-2); Mark Kavanagh, Tom White; Marty Kelly (2-5, 0-3 frees), Peter Nolan, Conor Doyle; Damien Reck (0-2), Podge Doran (capt., 2-2), Seamus Casey (2-1). Subs. - Conor Heffernan for Doyle, Pierce Murphy for Casey, Pa Cullen for D. Reck, Fergal Doran for P. Doran, Barry Dunne for Nolan, Evan Kelly for Kehoe.

Shelmaliers: Adam Howlin; Joe Redmond, Cian Manley, Eoghan Fitzgerald; Dan Campbell (0-1), Conor Walsh, Craig Parker (0-2 frees); Eoin O'Leary (0-2), Michael Feeney; Liam Rockett, Chris Gordon (capt.), Seán Keane-Carroll (1-0); Derek Walsh (0-5, 2 frees), Kevin O'Leary, Colin Cleary (0-2). Subs. - Chris Cowman for Rockett, Mark Flood for K. O'Leary, Kyle Roche (0-1) for Feeney, inj.

Referee: Pádraig Byrne (Kilanerin).

Wexford People

Most Read