Friday 19 January 2018

Second success for the Harriers

Faythe Harriers ran out comfortable winners after a powerful start paved the way to victory over Naomh Eanna in the Junior hurling championship Group B in Hollymount, writes Jason Goodison.

Faythe Harriers 1-15 Naomh Eanna 1-6

An eight-point half-time lead left Gorey with a deficit they never looked confident of turning around.

The Wexford town side were quickest out of the blocks and had built a six-point lead before the opening quarter had ended, Shane Howard getting the majority with aid from Peter Walsh, Dean Walsh and Paul Gannon.

Gorey must have thought they were back in contention in the 15th minute when Fionn Doyle finished off Niall Kirwan's shot after a fantastic Ian Scallan save, but the Harriers nullified Doyle's strike with a major as Con O Donnagáin pulled home from close range.

Further Gorey points, through David Kennedy and Michael Murphy, were answered by Dean Walsh and Howard to close out the half with a 1-11 to 1-3 lead.

The second period proved far less eventful as the Harriers worked to ensure that there was no way back into the game for Gorey, with Scallan protecting his goal expertly.

Darragh Hughes, Michael Byrne and John O'Brien points were cancelled by O Donnagáin, Dean Walsh and two more from Howard to extend the Harriers lead to nine as the final whistle neared.

The win sends Faythe Harriers to joint top of Group B while Naomh Eanna are only lifted from the bottom courtesy of a superior points difference to St. Mary's (Rosslare).

Faythe Harriers: Ian Scallan; Cormac Byrne, Cillian Lawlor, Danny Walsh; Fiach O Crualaoich, Seán Pailing, Jack Murphy; Dean Walsh (0-3), Con O Donnagáin (1-1); Conor Halligan, Shane Howard (capt., 0-9, 6 frees, 2 '65s), Damien Roche; Peter Walsh (0-1), Anthony Walsh, Paul Gannon (0-1). Subs. - Eoin Roche for D. Roche (45), Philip Bowe for Howard (55).

Naomh Eanna: Darragh Hughes (0-1 free); John Stafford, Pat Cullen, Daniel Sunderland; Ross Murphy, David Kennedy (0-1 free), Simon Doran (capt.); John Doyle, Kenneth Byrne; Dara McDonald, Michael Murphy (0-1), Michael Bernie (0-1); Fionn Doyle (1-0), Niall Kirwan, Colm Sheehan (0-1). Subs. - John O'Brien (0-1) for Sheehan (36), Eoin McGuckin for Doyle (54).

Referee: Seamus Whelan (Oylegate-Glenbrien).

Online Editors

Promoted Links

Most Read

Promoted Links