Tuesday 16 January 2018

Shelmaliers seconds hammer the Alley

James Donoghue

The Shelmaliers second string strolled past an extremely disappointing Buffers Alley outfit with a remarkable 25 points to spare in the Enniscorthy Farm Systems Junior football championship Group A clash in bitterly cold conditions at Blackwater on Sunday.

Shelmaliers 2-20 Buffers Alley 0-1

Two goals in the final 20 minutes from Barry O'connor and the impressive Tony Smith put the gloss on a polished performance from the Wexford District side.

The few spectators who braved the elements were treated to some dismal football in the first-half as the winners led by 0-6 to nil0 at the break despite playing into the strong breeze.

Tony Smith opened the scoring from a free before Jody Donohoe registered his first. However, last year's Minor Smith would be the only other scorer for the rest of the half with four points including three frees.

Buffers Alley had one moment of note before the break as the Shels switched off at the back but John Furlong was denied one-on-one by alert goalkeeper Seán Byrne.

Smith (two) and Donohoe opened the second-half scoring before Barry O'Connor added his 1-1 to the tally.

Willie O'Shaughnessy and Derek Welsh registered points before Smith slotted home his side's second goal. Arnie Murphy then ventured up the field to get the best score of the game from an awkward angle.

The final ten minutes belonged to Derek Walsh as he notched five of the final six points for the winners. Buffers Alley did manage a consolation score at the death from Mick Sinnott but will need massive improvement following promotion last year.

Shelmaliers: Seán Byrne; Eoghan Fitzgerald, Darren Malone, Eoin O'Leary; Enda Cloake, Kevin O'Leary, Arnie Murphy (0-2); Emmet O'Leary, James Cash; Jody Donohoe (0-2), Willie O'Shaughnessy (0-1), Tony Smith (1-8, 0-5 frees); Derek Walsh (0-6), Barry O'Connor (1-1), Michael Feeney. Subs. - Conor Walsh for Cloake, Cian Manley for K. O'Leary, Kevin O'Leary for Emmet O'Leary.

Buffers Alley: Darren O'Brien; Aaron Redmond, Alan Doyle, Mick Sinnott (0-1); Seán Murphy, Bobby Kenny, Paul O'Leary; Seán Og Whelan, Donal McArdle; Eddie O'Connor, Kevin Roche, Pat Kenny; Keith Burke, Paul Nangle, John Furlong. Subs. - Gearóid O'Connor for Burke, inj., Burke for E. O'Connor.

Referee: Aiden O'Brien (Cloughbawn).

Wexford People

Promoted Links

Most Read

Promoted Links